Switching

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by RiotShooter, Jan 23, 2009.

Jan 23, 2009

Switching by RiotShooter at 12:44 AM (1,328 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. RiotShooter
    OP

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    I"ve been wanting to switch from my r4 to a different cart because it doesnt have the sdhc support. I already have a supercard ds one but i'm not all that in love with it, its more complicated than what i really need in a flashcart. My question is what all would i have to do to switch from my r4 to an AK2? what would happen to my saves? etc...

    Thanks
     
  2. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Hm...
    I'm not an R4 fan, but I'll tell you what I can.

    1. Copy all your games and stuff. The [dsfile].sav files work, but to have multiple save slots you'll need to rename them to [dsfile].nds.sav

    Um...
    That's about it, I think! Homebrew can be easily thrown together with auto DLDI.
     
  3. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    You don't even have to.Use AKAIO and set saves to .SAV and it'll work.It loads em up normally since the extension is .SAV.
     
  4. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just too lazy to swap around, I'll do it when I have time.
     
  5. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    I was using a genuine (positive) R4 a week ago. My AceKard 2i arrived 3 days ago and I got the firmware (AKAIO 1.3rc2, now 1.3 final) to work a few minutes after delivery. Yes, I was that excited. I never had a problem with the firmware so far and I basically copied every file I had on my R4 over to the AceKard 2i, with the exception of the firmwares of course. I use an 8 GB Sandisk SDHC from DX if you must know.

    I really recommend getting the AceKard if you decide to upgrade from R4. Better GUI, lots of support, epic custom firmware, downloadable cart content via Wi-Fi, and much a few more I'm too lazy to mention. Just try it!
     
  6. RiotShooter
    OP

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, thank you all. I will probably buy a AK2 when i dont have to wait forever on DX to ship it.
     
  7. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    Try Focalprice.com? IDK if its reliable or not as I haven't ordered from there before.
     
  8. TheLifeRuiner

    Newcomer TheLifeRuiner Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I would recommend Focalprice. I mean, I haven't received my order, but I ordered it a week ago and it shipped out pretty quickly. It should be arriving pretty soon. [​IMG] By the way, I ordered an AK2.
     
  9. RiotShooter
    OP

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Kinda a side question from my original post but what if i bought an AK2i. would that be better? i might upgrade to the DSi in the future and i dont want to have to buy another flashcart.
     
  10. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    The AK2 and AK2i are pretty much identical. So here is what you're dealing with in practical terms

    Pros for AK2i
    - easier availability (well at least on DX they're easier to find than the AK2)

    Cons
    - Paying more money for not much benefit, especially since you don't have a DSi
    - Unable to use different firmware versions via AKAIO (this feature is disabled on the DSi since it can possibly brick the cart). Occasionally there's some better game compatibilty if you use the official firmware.
     
  11. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much what doyama said is right. I got my A2i in hopes of upgrading to a DSi, and I'd say it's pretty much worth it since I don't access commercial Wi-Fi anyways (updating the firmware). I also noticed you have an EZ Flash 3-in-1, an Acekard (no matter which one) has pretty good compatibility with it as long as you use the AKAIO. I'd say it's definitely worth it if you want to upgrade to a DSi, but I'd hold for two weeks or so after the US DSi release to see how flashcarts deal with it. Because they might release a US DSi that block A2i.
     

Share This Page