1. ebin

    OP ebin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Finland
    Is switching the SD card for Switch as easy as just moving over everything from the old card to the new card just normally on PC?
    Also how should you format the new SD card? I've heard that some file systems are more likely to have data corruption or something. I've even heard that Nintendo's official steps to formatting the card isn't the best, so what is the case on this?
     
  2. MUDD_BR

    MUDD_BR GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, is simply as that. The recommended format is fat32.
     
  3. ebin

    OP ebin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Finland
    But doesn't fat32 limit file size to 4gb? Does switch not have to download any 4gb+ files then?
     
  4. ebin

    OP ebin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Finland
    If I should format my card to fat32 what about the "allocation unit size"?
     
  5. TheCasualties

    TheCasualties Just trying to be helpful
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    431
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Switch breaks up games into 4gb files when installed. Only an issue if you are trying to install nsp/xci from the SD card, but there are multiple ways to get around this.

    As for cluster size, 32kb is default and should pretty much always be used.
     
    MUDD_BR likes this.
  6. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,674
    Country:
    Norway
    I think 8K is the default. Best manually select 32k just to be sure.
     
    TheCasualties likes this.
  7. TheCasualties

    TheCasualties Just trying to be helpful
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    431
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe it depends on the program being used to format. Whichever one I used was default 32k. Good idea to always make sure!

    This got me to check Windows' website and it looks like the default size is supposed to be determined by the size of the drive. Anything above 32gb should default to 32kb, at least when using Windows NT 3.51 :P.
     
  8. ebin

    OP ebin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Finland
    Huh... Windows doesn't let me format my card to fat32. Can I use some software to format it and what software should I use then?
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,674
    Country:
    Norway
    guiformat or Minitool Partition Wizard.
     
  10. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,980
    Country:
    United States
    allocation size doesn't matter. I've tested it. it will always work the same way and you'll have the same amount of free space.
     
  11. Lunatics

    Lunatics GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    is there a way to make the switch SD card browseable by the PC without removing the card? I only have one good reliable USB-C SD card adapter, my other is an old USB one that is not reliable anymore and can cut out at times. Is there a way I can connect the switch via USB and browse the SD card on my PC as if it was plugged in with an adapter, then plug my new SD card into my adapter and transfer everything over? Or will I really need to free up enough space on my PC, back everything up, then plug in the new one and copy it back over?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - switching, Switch,