Switch dock power alternatives.

maraxion

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
So the switch can be charged from a various of sources and voltage like 5,9,12 and 15.
But what does the docked switch need in terms of power to run?
Can it be a static 15v. Can it be a USB-pd with only 5,9 and 12 volts etc.

Lost my power supply and would like some feedback before i go crazy trying.

zxr750j

Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
I read this somewhere:
The dock requires 39W (specifically 15V/2.6A) to output video. The dock does use a bit more power than the Switch alone, for the USB ports and video conversion. But it rarely draws more power than it does when undocked.

I use a 100W laptop charger, but the original nintendo charger is cheaper and works fine.

Reactions: binkinator

Yachtmaster

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Spain
Greetings,

Newbie here and very interessted in this theme ... My home is a sailingboat, means main power is 12 Volt DC.
I couldn't find a commercial solution to power the Switch Dock with 12 Volt DC and have to use an Inverter (12V - 220v) which means a lot of wasted precious battery power.

So I'm thinking of using or trying out a Step-up converter 12V - 15 V. I checked my Nintendo power supply yesterday by removing the insulation from the USB-C cable - inside 3 cables: blue,black & white.

Measure results plugged into the dock are a bit confusing ...

white (positive) + black (negative) = 14.92 Volts
white (positve) + blue (negative) = 13.93 Volts

Well, I guess a 15 Volts Step-up converter should be connected to WHITE (+) and BLACK (-)

Is there anyone who can explain me what are the 13.93 Volts for?

maraxion

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
I read this somewhere:
The dock requires 39W (specifically 15V/2.6A) to output video. The dock does use a bit more power than the Switch alone, for the USB ports and video conversion. But it rarely draws more power than it does when undocked.