1. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently on an old compuer(VERY OLD) for a month or 2 because mine is broke and im too broke to fix it.It has shaders 2.0 but i wanna play games like FIFA 11 which require shader 3.0, I have 256 mb of video ram using an integrated graphics card and 4gb RAM with a 2.4 ghz processor.I just saw something called swiftshader which emulated shader 3.0, will it work on my machine?will it lag?
     
  2. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    What processor?

    Ghz is not a measurement of performance, so we'll need to know the processor model. If it's something shitty like a Pentium 4 then it's not likely to run well.
     
  3. YayMii

    YayMii hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,916
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, GHz isn't a definite measure of CPU speed.
    And if you're on an old computer, you're likely out of luck. All that SwiftShader does is use CPU power to emulate a GPU, so you'd need a more powerful CPU for that.
     
  4. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't call that "very old", it looks like nice base specs to me. Pair that with a good GPU and you could play Crysis.

    That said, SwiftShader should work, but don't expect miracles.
     
  6. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    SO can I run games like TF2 and Pro Evo Soccer 2011 on low settings?Does this SwiftShader emulate T&L also?
     
  7. lolzed

    lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Country:
    TF2 is fairly old...it only requires 1.1 AFAIK
     
  8. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC T&L is part of SM, it's one of the most basic aspects.
     
  9. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    When i run it i get weird colors like everything black, red and blue.
    Is it because i dont have t&L?
     
  10. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I try running FIFA 10 and TF2.My comp should be able to play TF2 but i get the whole map in black, red and blue.FIFA 10 says i need Hardware T and L, i think thats why the grass is just green with no grass textures
     
  11. zeromac

    zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,193
    Country:
    Wait what is Swiftshader?
     
  12. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,639
    Country:
    United States
    thats "very old"?
    I thought you were talking about a P4 or something
    the last gen c2d's arnt that old >_>
    that cpu is better then mine
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have proper video drivers installed?
     
  14. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Updated few mins ago, same problem
     
  15. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    What video card?
    Where'd you get the update from?
     
  16. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I just updated my display adapter drivers its intel chipset something
     
  17. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    But where did you get the update from? Depending where, you may not have gotten the latest version.
     
  18. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows 7 found an update
     
  19. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
  20. rockstar99

    OP rockstar99 Hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Says my driver is current
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - SwiftShader, Emulate, Shader