Swap 360 drives?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by playallday, Dec 9, 2008.

Dec 9, 2008

Swap 360 drives? by playallday at 3:24 AM (4,568 Views / 0 Likes) 55 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015


  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can , but you have to change over the drive key and spoof the drive. Unless they are the same drives , then you can just switch the pcb if you want.

    Although the one that can't read games , why not?. Does it not read any discs? or just games?. As if it's just games it can't read , then there is a high chance some one screwed up trying to flash it and lost the drive key , in which case , it's a useless console , so don't buy it.
     
  3. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks.

    How do I spoof the drive?

    I'll ask him if it can't read anything or just games.
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firmware toolbox has a drive spoof option. Load firmware , then you can pick a drive to spoof as. There's a few tutorials around as well that will cover in more detail , but can't remember where so you'll have to search.

    I know you're gonna ask , but I'd really be careful of the one that can't read games. Selling it off for $50 makes no sense to me unless the drive key was lost and they're just trying to make quick money. As a laser for a 360 drive is cheap and even if the whole drive was broke , they aint that expensive either. Certainly not a costly enough repair to make someone get rid of it for $50.
     
  5. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks.

    The guy said it sort-of play games, it's very hard to get it to read games (putting the disk in-and-out-in-and-out...).

    I have a SATA port, will all of them work or only some?

    EDIT: Could you rehost Firmware toolbox for me? Thanks.
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No , not all SATA ports work. Nforce sata and via have the best compatibility and can flash all the drives easily , but depending what drive the 360 has , you can get away with using others. The old hitachis and samsung ms25 can be done with pretty much any sata chipset.
     
  7. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea how much a modded box goes for , never looked into it (I do mine myself).

    I don't have a copy of firmware toolbox on this pc. Is there something wrong with the download here http://team-xecuter.com/ck3/downloads.htm

    ?
     
  9. Saitalv4.0

    Newcomer Saitalv4.0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Country:
    United States
    You know, on the other hand, ebay (and Divineo.com) for that matter both have RRoD repair kits for less than $20.00. You might want to consider that as an option as well.
     
  10. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Good point. Does it work well? Is it easy?
     
  11. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    How long have the LiteOn drives been out for? Any step-by-step guides for modding?

    EDIT: Sorry, double post.
     
  12. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    You have to wait until iXtreme for Lite-On is released to flash it.

    The release date is a day before Christmas.
     
  13. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Do the RRoD repair kits work or not really?
     
  14. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    If it's x-clamp replacement, then yes.

    If it's a eraser fix, no.
     
  15. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    How much do they cost? Know of a good site to buy from?
     
  16. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    GOT THEM!!!

    The one with RRoD is going to be unfixable, the guy ripped it apart! But the DVD drive still looks good. The one that can't read games has the locking thing in drive not working, but can't I use paper or something to fix it(it thinks the drive is open all the time)?

    I'm going to open the one that can't read games when I get my opening tool.

    EDIT: So if the drives are the same I can just swap them without doing anything?
    EDIT2: If the 360 is banned can I still download demos? If not, how do I unban it again?
     
  17. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If they are the same drives , then you can switch the pcb instead of having to change key and spoof. You can't just swap the drives , it's either switch pcb (if they are the same drives) or change key and spoof if they are not.

    If it's banned , no demos from marketplace. Can still download from elsewhere and burn to disc.
     
  18. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Which PCB? Do you mean the motherboard?

    2. Does it need to be flashed for that?
     
  19. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1)The pcb inside the drive.
    2)No.
     
  20. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    How do I get at it (after opening the 360)?
     

Share This Page