Suspected clone, anyone seen this card before?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Shapon, Apr 16, 2013.

Apr 16, 2013
  1. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I bought this card a couple years ago, and have since purchased an Acekard 2i. The older card did work for the older games, and my friend is interested in DS homebrew. I want to have him try this card as opposed to purchasing a new one, as were both pretty much broke. Does anyone know where i can get the original firmware for this? The card does not have a web address on it, and I lost the packaging years ago. I've attempted to install woods R4, but either it didn't take or i messed up. I uploaded some pictures to try to help with the ID.

    I have tried a number of the firmwares on: http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/
    and my usual google fu has turned up a number of cards with an inverted sticker. That is, a black background and gold dots.

    I know the MicroSD card is not at fault because it worked when i first had this working, and because it works with my Acekard now.

    006.JPG 007.JPG 008.JPG 009.JPG 011.JPG 012.JPG

    EDIT: Obnoxious full image is obnoxious.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The only original "R4" is "R4 Revolution For DS", or just "R4" for short on the sticker. It also lacked SDHC and DSi support.
    So yeah, it's clearly a different one. And yes, this means 99% of them aren't original. Welcome to Chinese goods.

    Wood won't work on that one. Try YSmenu.
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/retrogamefan-updates-releases.267243/
     
    Shapon likes this.
  3. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! Ill give that a try and be back in 10.
    Oh wow. Should i just start trying all of them? Or?

    The three I tried so far: R4i-clone, R4iSDHC YSMenu, and R4i-SDHC YSMenu all whitescreened. Im gonna keep trying the other R4 folders, but do you know of anything else that may work?

    EDIT2: None of these seem to be working. Any other advice? The only thing i can find online is images that look similar to my card.
     
  4. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If it's the R4i-Gold cart I think it is, use the DSTTi-Clone YSMenu folder and Rename 1 copy of TTMenu.dat to R4i.dat
     
    Shapon likes this.
  5. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Just made the attempt with both DSTTi clones. White screen on both.
    Stupid younger me buying a clone.
     
  6. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
  7. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  8. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  9. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  10. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  11. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  12. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  13. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  14. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  15. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    All I can suggest to you is to try copying the contents of the DSTTi-Clone YSMenu folder and Rename 1 copy of TTMenu.dat to R4.dat or also try renaming to iLL.iL (so you should have 2 files : 1 called TTMenu.dat and a renamed TTmenu.dat called either R4.dat or iLL.iL)

    it's all a matter of knowing for sure what your boot file is called on your carts original kernel...
     
  16. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    imglayer.whatever is a mistake on their part. thats the subdomain for their images that they host on that site (soobest). The website is in fact r4i3d-multi.com (where you've already been). Unless those images were meant for a different product, I think you may be out of luck. Did the card work previously? Looks like it had the ability to be updated for dsi compatibility. Did you ever update it?

    --Edit: Your card doesn't seem to be the one pictured even though it has the same front sticker. The PCB's are different. Silkscreen doesn't match and the contacts are differently shaped.

    --Edit 2: Your PCB looks like the one from this thread (http://gbatemp.net/threads/r4i-w-gold-pcb.277293/)

    You should try these fw's from linfoxdomain ( R4i-SDHC r4i-sdhc.com.tw, r4i-sdhc.com.au Latest: v2.13c)
     
  17. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Ill try this again, cause why not? I do know the card worked, but it was so long ago i have no idea what the kernel name was.
    EDIT: Unfortunately, did not work. Either filename.


    Ill try those too. I never updated it to the dsi firmware, as I own a DS phat.
    Im pretty sure that my card and his are the same. Anyone know where i could get akaio 1.5.1?
    Sorry for the long delay, i fell asleep and had school

    EDIT:Basically, this card is stubborn. Im out of ideas, does anyone have any other suggestions, or should I consider throwing in the towel?
     
  18. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  19. Shapon
    OP

    Newcomer Shapon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to find the unmodded version. Unfortunately for me, it did not work. The akaio team was quite persistent in removing all of the download links. I suppose well just have to save up and get a new card.
     

Share This Page