Supercard DSTWO Opened Up

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Spartan117H3, Jun 5, 2010.

Jun 5, 2010

Supercard DSTWO Opened Up by Spartan117H3 at 7:49 PM (1,913 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if anyone else did this, but I just got my DSTWO today and decided to open it up. Here are the images. The cart is closed by tiny little clips and one screw. The screw is located on the bottom right of the back of the card, near the contacts. I used a hairdryer on the front of the sticker so I could remove it without messing it up because it is stuck directly to the chips.

    As you can see, Supercard seemed not only to copy Acekard's menu, but the design of the earlier AK2i's with the Actel chips that were removed in the later version of the AK2i to fix the "bulge" in the front of the card. Since I have the old AK2i with the Actel chip, I can tell you that it is the SAME SIZE. The problem with taking it out is because, as you can see, there are more protruding chips (3 chips) than that of the older AK2i (1 chip, the Actel). For being recessed into the slot, that is not true either. It is as tall as the AK2i.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the pics
     
  3. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI, they did not copy the chip design, its common sense to make holes in the plastic to compensate for the larger processing units they installed. Also, Acekard's menu is VERY generic and Supercards EOS is acctually based on moonshell.
     
  4. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't supercard team say it was based on the Acekard RPG source?
     
  5. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    That was the DSONE(i)'s EOS.
     
  6. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, well, as far as I heard it was a moonshell 2 alteration. (which also led me into thinking WTF why release moonshell with it when its already based on it?)
     
  7. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I thought too. Pretty sure they announced DSTWO's Firmware also copied it.
     
  8. creativ

    Member creativ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Acekard RPG fw is open source, so why copied ?

    and what will you say with this thread ?, that supercard is a bad team
    and the dstwo a ripoff ?
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    actually, its based on the acekard official and gelu opensource rpg sources.

    -another world
     
  10. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, was just stating facts and comparing the two hardware wise.
     
  11. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    That's correct, for the DSTWO.
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Am I correct in presuming that the 'firmware' part of the DStwo is on the Actel itself and that the Hynix must be the 32 MB of RAM the card is said to have? I'm just wondering for sure because my experience with these chips is pretty limited (which is why I'm hoping this isn't a stupid question) and I know Hynix makes flash chips as well. I was going to check the file size of the firmware update, but it seems to have vanished (can't find it on their site either).

    *edit*
    Nevermind, answered for sure in another thread. It is indeed the RAM.
     

Share This Page