SuperCard DSTWO keeps freezing!

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by demonicstrife, Jul 7, 2011.

Jul 7, 2011
  1. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, for some reason, everytime I play a game on my DSTWO, it eventually freezes and the supercard is no longer recognized by my 3DS nor DSLite. I was using a PNY 4GB SDHC card and bought a new 8 GB PNY card, and I still have the problem. It currently has the latest EOS 1.11 with iMenu. To get it working again I have to delete and recopy the EOS files, but it still happens. Any help with whatever the hell's going on?
     


  2. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I've figured out that some point, the DSTWO stop reading data from the microSD alltogether. Loading screens and whatnot always freeze when testing a game. Still can't find a proper fix...
     
  3. Wllmrly

    Newcomer Wllmrly Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    ive had this happen to me alot but i dont know wht causes it either
     
  4. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    i'm pretty sure it's a contact issue, this used to happen to me before i pushed in the microsd card all the way in (and the dstwo all the way into the ds) and at an angle to line up the contacts properly
     
  5. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This is definitely something regarding the contacts of the Supercard DSTwo itself. This happened on my Original R4 awhile back. It turned out the contacts were dirty. Blowing into the DS slot, on the contacts (DRY BREATH), and waiting a few minutes worked well. Didn't have the problem again before I sent off my DS, never to be seen again.
     
  6. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be an issue with micro SDHC cards. I've used either Transcend or Kingston brands that are at least class 4 and never had that issue. The fact that your SCDS2 isn't being recognised also points to that being a possibility (unlike most cards when the SCDS2 is inserted into a DS/DSi/3DS without a micro SDHC card it is not recognised).
    When you remove your micro SDHC card and put it in your PC does it come up with any errors on the card? Also when you format it do you use Windows format of Panasonic SD formatter.
     
  7. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    I've sprayed out both the 3DS slot and microSD slot with compressed air, and tried wiping the contacts on the DSTWO, but it still freezes.... I've also tested with a 2 GB Sandisk.
     
  8. Bree500

    Member Bree500 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    i have a digital camera and every time i put in my sd memory card, there is a locking device that holds the sd memory card from poping out or from it being loose. And i think that's what's causing the freezing, not reading at times because the memory card is not positioned properly inside the dstwo card.

    I think it would be great if the next generation dstwo card had the locking device to hold the micro sd card.
     
  9. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I kinda fiddled with it in the 3DS slot and when I test Kingdom Hearts, it didn't freeze in the middle of playing. Completed an entire world. Maybe I just have to align it properly.

    EDIT: Yeah, it suddenly works again. All games no longer freeze. What a headache this was. o_o
     
  10. Ron457x2

    Member Ron457x2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    FL, Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Since the DSTWO is kind of thick, you have to make sure its all the way in
    No innuendo intended. [​IMG]
     
  11. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, every time I reset my 3DS, it's still becomes unrecognized, and I gotta take it out and reinsert it. GOD, this thing has issues...
     
  12. geenlung

    geenlung Newbie

    You might want to rub the contacts with a rubber eraser to expose fresh metal surface on the microSD.
     
  13. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it's definitely contact issues with the microSD, because after removing that, it's freezing yet again....

    I might just send it back and get a replacement...
     
  14. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    my first dstwo is better about this, but my limited edition one i really do have to angle it while i'm pushing it in like i said before, i tried to make an illustration

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  15. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    I tried angling it in, and I get mixed results, freezing much more so then it actually playing a game.
     
  16. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    are you pushing it all the way in?

    do some tests at the 3ds menu to confirm whether it's the microsd or the dstwo, (i'm pretty sure it will show up if the DSTwo connects at all, even without the microsd, but when u launch the dstwo, if the microsd isn't connecting, it should give an error)
     
  17. demonicstrife
    OP

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Huh. It may actually be the DSTwo then. It's still not recognized everytime I insert or remove it.
     
  18. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    well i don't really know what to say to that other than maybe try the "The TK Paper Trick" (it's about half way down the post) but be careful not to do too much, you don't want to F up ur 3ds' contacts
     
  19. Ron457x2

    Member Ron457x2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    FL, Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Hence, isn't that what I said? [​IMG]
     
  20. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It could be an overheating issue, mine worked when I took the sticker off and cleaned the CPU. It had some dust on the inside causing it to get hot.
     

Share This Page