Supercard - Adding New Plug-ins

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by fishykipper, Jun 23, 2010.

Jun 23, 2010
  1. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd like to have a few of my most played games on the Supercard Start Menu, you know where you select either NDS or GBA etc.....!

    So basically, I know how to add new plugins, you drop the (.nds, .bmp and .ini) into the '_dstwoplug' folder! then you select the icon from the Supercard Menu!

    But what i dont get is, if ive made up a .ini file, created a .bmp and dropped the .nds game into the plugins folder, why wont it boot??


    For example, in the folder I have:

    Mario Party.nds
    Mario Party.ini
    Mario Party.bmp

    with the .ini file structured like this:

    [plug setting]
    icon=fat1:/_dstwoplug/Mario Party.bmp
    name=Mario Party


    Yet the game still wont load? can someone shed some light on this please!!!
     
  2. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    I dont think this works with DS Roms
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Correct. The plug-ins system only works with homebrew, because that's the only thing the main menu can load. I suppose commercial ROM support could be added, but you'll have to talk to a member of the Supercard team about that.
     
  4. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    damn, that's a shame! how come only homebrew works? I don't understand? how does the card distinguish between homebrew and commercial?

    cheers for the replies thought, i'll stop trying now! lol!
     
  5. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some1 will most probably correct me - but IIRC virtually all programs (ROM and Homebrew) have a portion of code @ the beginning (called a 'header') & within this header is a 4-character code

    With Homebrew - this is usually '####' (I think), while with ROMS it's something else - like 'ASDF', (& it's different for every game)

    It could be that a launcher will look in the header & IF it see '####' it will DLDI patch it before running, if it finds anything else - it is classed as a ROM & is either not run, or ran with a different type of loading procedure.

    The 'shortcut' menu on a DSTwo may have been programmed for DLDI patching only - & will ignore any non-'####' programs it finds
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I highly doubt it purposely doesn't boot commercial roms, I think it just doesn't have support for them. Part of it is that they need to be patch and/or booted differently from homebrew.
     

Share This Page