Stop Wii updating

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bauldrick, Jan 22, 2009.

Jan 22, 2009

Stop Wii updating by Bauldrick at 12:15 PM (1,069 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Bauldrick
    OP

    Member Bauldrick GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I realize this will leave me open to smart arse comments, but here I go anyway:

    I know little about 'hacking' the wii, but have no problem at all following simple guides that I'm grateful people have had time to write up.

    Here's my situation;
    I have a wii with an original wiikey chip and up-to-date. It's config has the block update (?) set to yes. I recently 'downgraded' the firmware to 3.2E (this is my kids wii by the way), in order to be able to do stuff that I obviously shouldn't be able to do. However, the kids played a game (crazy fun golf or something) that said it wouldn't run unless wii performed an update - so wii performed an update and menu stayed at 3.2E (I did check it). At some point in the days after this the menu has changed to 3.3E (that wouldn't be an online update as latest is 3.4, no?).

    So I guess my question is this, am I wrong in thinking I can be able to stop it updating?
     
  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    install this http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_apps/Starfall
    Features
    Region free GC games with video mode patch
    Region free Wii games
    Region free channels

    No mainmenu BGM
    Start rescue-menu when Y is held on 1st GC controller
    Remove rescue-menu diagnostic disc check

    Replace health warning with backmenu
    Skip disc update check

    install the Bold ones [​IMG]

    I'm unsure if that prevents wiiware games from asking to update, it shouldn't do, I'm on 3.2 and i can play every wiiware game so.....should be good....also re-downgrade back to 3.2 before trying to install them starfall patches [​IMG]

    you said it's now on 3.3 hmm surely your kid has accepted a disc update..as 3.4 is the latest firmware
     
  3. r3z

    Newcomer r3z Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Japan
    Any way of skipping the disc update check without using Starfall?.. I have a Japanese Wii with 3.2J(WiiKey) but Starfall doesn't support JP Wii.
     
  4. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    first use cIOS and IOS Downgraders to go back to 3.2 then you can install Starfall...!!! [​IMG]
     
  6. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    The original wiikey is suppose to have an update blocker in the 1.9s config disc, try that.
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    You can still update if you want, I mean the wiikey it is not going to unplug the Wii from internet...!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    You could like, ban the servers of the update server on your wireless...
     

Share This Page