1. Psychoticgamer92

    OP Psychoticgamer92 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    So I got a new switch and to my surprise it's on 4.0.1. Its hackable. So what are the first things I should do. I'm gonna back up boot0/1 and full nand. But after that? Thanks!
     
    MarkDarkness and Spadezilla like this.
  2. GraFfiX420

    GraFfiX420 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Back it up, verify your backup, copy your backup offsite (dropbox, Google drive etc.), hack it and play some games?
     
    Psychoticgamer92 likes this.
  3. Psychoticgamer92

    OP Psychoticgamer92 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    How do I verify my backup?
     
  4. Beerus

    Beerus Gbatemp's God Of Destruction
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,269
    Country:
    Japan
    check the bytes it should be like 31 gigs but shows 29 gigs

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    upload_2018-12-9_20-49-56.png
    then follow this guide https://reinx.guide/ but depends on the cfw u want to use
     
    Last edited by Beerus, Dec 10, 2018
  5. thorasgar

    thorasgar Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,780
    Country:
    United States
    Hekate should verify your backup when you create it.

    Edit: Airplane Mode, maybe 90DNS if you have some ftp or private online stuff you want to do. Go online and get banned. Airplane mode always when you leave the house so you don’t get ambushed by a Nintendo Hotspot.
     
    Last edited by thorasgar, Dec 10, 2018
  6. osaka35

    osaka35 Instructional Designer
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,197
    Country:
    United States
    Psychoticgamer92 likes this.
  7. fringle

    fringle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Canada

    Do not assume you have a good backup just because the files sizes are correct. The way I would do it, is take 2 dumps and do a file compare. Can be done in windows from Dos prompt with FC command. If they match, chances are you have a good backup. If they don't match dump again until you get two that do.
     
    Psychoticgamer92 and Beerus like this.
  8. nutsack

    nutsack GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    The file system is technically showing gibibytes (2^30 bytes) instead of gigabytes (10^9 bytes). It's annoying as hell but 31268536320 bytes = 29.1 Gibibytes is correct. Your hard drive sizes are always advertised in terms of gigabytes on the box but every file system I know measures in terms of gibibytes when the drive is actually installed. It's the reason a 1 terabyte hard drive is shown as 931 GB in Windows or any console (1 Terabyte = 1000 Gigabytes = 931 Gibibytes).
     
    Last edited by nutsack, Dec 10, 2018
    Psychoticgamer92 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Starting, please,