Starcraft

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by klein, May 16, 2010.

May 16, 2010

Starcraft by klein at 3:50 AM (1,065 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. klein
    OP

    Member klein GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Hey gbatemp, I lost my Starcraft CD and am itching for some multiplayer, and I am wondering if anyone could shoot me a PM or point me to a work around so I can get online.
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Buy a new serial for cheap - I'd recommend G2Buy for such a thing, $4.75 for a new key. After that all you need to do is to pirate the Starcraft CDs and use your legit serial with them.

    [​IMG] G2Buy
     
  3. klein
    OP

    Member klein GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I am having troubles running starcraft itself, it says I need the CD to run it, and when I do use a hacked version it won't connect to battle.net because of an error not related to CD keys. Suggestions?
     
  4. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    You don't need a cracked version. Download clean copies of the CDs (no cracks). Mount the iso, install and then update to the latest patch.
     
  5. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I think you can register the key in battle.net and just download the game from there...
     
  6. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    Or, go drop 5 bucks at Gamestop, and get in on the SC2 beta.
     
  7. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    If the key is legit(Well of course it would be), then just register for a Battle.net account then tie the beta key to it. Then it'll let you download the installer. No need for downloading the game from random unsafe places.
     
  8. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Pretty sure he's talking about Starcraft 1, not the second one...
     
  9. klein
    OP

    Member klein GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Ya, I am talking about the first one, but I can't even get the game to run without a CD.

    EDIT: I haven't played it in over a year so it might not have the no-cd patch blizzard put in the game.
     
  10. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey Minox, do you know a site like that CD key site you posted earlier but instead for other games?
     
  11. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ok, so I just tried the battle.net thing. After registering a battle.net account and adding your Starcraft serial you're indeed able to download the whole game off their site.

    Sorry, but I'm not aware of such a site. I only know of this one because I got it recommended to me after losing my own Starcraft CD-key :/
     
  12. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    The SC2 beta has been nothing short of garbage for me. My experience with the gameplay have basically been non existent, I have only played 2 matches and got bum rushed by some faggots playing Terran because they are OP as shit. Can't stay connected because half the time the people on the other end are losing their connections or Blizzard's servers crash.

    Suffice to say that I won't be getting SC2 for the multiplayer because if it's going to be as bad as it is now for latency and connection problems, I doubt I will ever try to play it online.
     
  13. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    SC2 beta has been great for me :nayps3:
     
  14. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    I know what he's talking about. :-P Was just an alternative suggestion to playing the first one. ^^
     

Share This Page