Homebrew Standalone Homebrew Drum Brain/Drum Module

Chandy

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I primarily use my Homebrewed Wii for Gamecube emulation because I'm a competitive Smash player, but I'm also a musician and the concept of using a homebrewed Wii for live performance/recording is intriguing. The Wii is fairly compact and already comes with a capable soundcard and stereo audio output, not to mention supported peripherals like Rock Band/GH:WT drums to work with as a starting point. One day I would like to include MIDI drum kit compatibility through something like this, but for now I will limit the scope of my idea to just working with the drums that I personally own, the standard wireless Guitar Hero World Tour drums.

Guitar Hero and Rock Band have both showcased potential for live playback and recording with low latency via Freestyle mode. While these practice modes will certainly get the job done, they can only be accessed from within the attached game, meaning longer start-up/load times as well as a limited number of pre-set drum sounds and little opportunity for customization of the kit's parameters.

So, my idea is to create a standalone Homebrew app prototype to serve as a DIY electronic drum module with the following functions:

1. Interface with the Guitar Hero World Tour drums to receive velocity sensitive input from each of the pads, cymbals, and pedals.
2. Trigger a .wav sample of a drum sound after receiving input from the appropriate pad. Low latency is a must in order to facilitate live performance application. Custom samples can be loaded into the app via SD card for a wider variety of drum sounds.
3. Modify .wav sample playback of drum sounds with basic audio effects like sustain, volume, reverb, EQ, and compression.