SSBB

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mikeyt1998, Feb 28, 2009.

Feb 28, 2009

SSBB by mikeyt1998 at 11:34 PM (1,164 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. mikeyt1998
    OP

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i got super smash bros brawl a while ago (before i started the softmodding and playing of backups) but now its stopped working...

    i know there is a flaw with some wii's that causes it to be not read, but since mine WAS working could it be something to do with any cIOS or anything that i've installed? here are the specs:

    Wiigator cIOS v07
    cMIOS Xi
    softmii 2.0.5 (i think, plays GC games through disc channel)
    preloader installed (just incase any hacks can repair it, unlikely though i suppose lol)
    firmware 3.2E (downgraded from 3.3v1)

    it reads all other original and backup discs i have in the disc channel. but SSBB doesnt load through the Gamma loader disc channel either.

    in the main menu, when i insert the disc it sort of makes a disc reading sound followed by silence. in the backup launcher gamma channel it does the same but instead of silence it then makes the disc read sound again and just repeats the sound and every so often the front wii light will come on like when you've just inserted the game.

    I'm thinking it's something to do with the downgrade. i havent actually played the game in a few months so i dont really know which point it stopped working unfortunately, sorry about that.

    i was looking foward to a damn good brawl session then too [​IMG]

    i can accept that i may have to send it to nintendo, but i dont want to get rid of all of the cIOS install efforts!!

    i'm actually going to bed now so i'll have to come back tomora evening to catch up, if you need any more details then just say here and i'll be able to give you them [​IMG]

    thanks alot to anyone that can help [​IMG]
     
  2. kylsav

    Member kylsav GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Is the disk an original or a backup?

    Since its the only Duel layered game i can think of there's no other game that would have that problem.

    if its a backup try burning it again. if its an original make sure the disk is clean. If you don't wanna send to Nintendo i believe they have a wii cleaning kit for sale now which could fix the issue.
     
  3. mikeyt1998
    OP

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the game is actually an original.

    n yeah, i think its the dual layer disc reading problem. strange thing that it did work once upon a time though. although it did have a disc read error every 1 in 10 loads lol

    anyone think it could have just developed over time?
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    It's probably the laser. If you're under warranty you can send it to nintendo and get it repared for free, otherwise you'll have to pay. You could always replace the laser your self though.
     
  5. kylsav

    Member kylsav GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    From what i been told its usually just because the laser gets dirty from dust and smoke, and since he can read other games the laser probably isn't broken just needs to be cleaned.

    I don't know if u smoke but this could be the reason.

    Dual Layer Discs Not Causing Wii Errors, Cigarettes are
     
  6. mikeyt1998
    OP

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol no i dont smoke, disgusting habit!

    n yeah, i figured that it just developed the laser issue that prevents brawl from being read.

    i'd fix it myself if i had a clue on what the actual problem is with the laser that stops it from reading the disc lol

    and i'm not under warranty any more, bought the wii on release... oh well i dont mind [​IMG]
     
  7. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    My Original Brawl Disc is giving me headaches too. Will spit out a disc read error 9 times outta 10. I think I might be still in warranty, If I update to 3.4 and remove HBC & PreLoader will that remove all the naughty stuff that Nintendo wouldnt happy with?
     
  8. mikeyt1998
    OP

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i do believe it would yeah, but i dont want to go through all that effort of re-installs etc. ARGG lol

    i realise you were on about a problem of your own then sorry lol mines doing it 10 out of 10 times nowadays lol
     
  9. bambam95

    Newcomer bambam95 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    A ROCK,A DOG, THE EARTH
    Country:
    Canada
    same problem here. I have to pop the disc in and out thirty times too get it too work
     
  10. rajnika

    Newcomer rajnika Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    France
    I'm having the same problem. My disc isnt working anymore. Already before it was hard... Here what i did to make my Wii "clean" :

    Saved all my savegame on SD, deleted hacks of Preloader, Ran AnyRegionChanger to go back to a "proper" 3.2, deleted IOS above 200 (i.e. 249), deleted HAXX channel (= Homebrew Channel) then i formated my Wii and updated to 3.4 using wifi. Note that i had to launch twice the updater else Zelda or even Wii Sports wouldnt run (black screen).

    Now everything looks clean to me, no more "Homebrew channel used xx hours" in Wii Logs (from what i can see, maybe there's another log inside the Wii ?) and i'm just waiting for Nintendo's mail with instructions, also read the page where you have to enter mail, address and stuff. For Europe we have to send Wii with SSBB disc.
     
  11. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hmmm....My SSBB is NTSC USA Version. I used to use FreeLoader on my PAL EU Wii when it first came out, but FreeLoader doesnt work anymore cos of CIOSCORP I think.
    So Nintendo might be fussy if I send in a PAL Wii with a NTSC SSBB. I could try borrow a PAL Disc off someone.
     

Share This Page