Hacking Some questions about softmodding PS3

Cmurda187

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Location
The depths of HELL
XP
1,059
Country
United States
I just bought an 80gb PS3 and am going to mod it soon with my Motorola droid. I have some questions before I get started.

1. The firmware that is currently installed is 3.01. Do I have to update to 3.41 to mod my ps3? If so how do I do this because I do not want to update to the latest firmware?


2. When I do install the required files on my droid and then to the PS3 how do I install gaja manager with Hermes payload?

3. With a game that I own that will be JB how do i install it to the internal HD? I plan on putting something bigger inside in the near future.

Thanks in Advance for anwsering my questions
yay.gif
 

Sephxus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
327
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pomona, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
49
Country
United States
Do a google search for the 3.41 firmware and install it from a flash drive.

There's a sticky on top look up Motorola Droid and follow the guide: Link

For the Gaia Manager search for the latest version and put the pkg file on the root of a flashdrive and install it. (on jb mode)

Installing games is pretty easy as well just use the manager.
 

Sephxus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
327
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pomona, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
49
Country
United States
*Yes a storage device

First update to 3.41 (you can use other firmwares, but i have not done it. search it if you want more info on that)
Then jailbreak (droid thing)
and then you'll be able to install pkg files.
 

Sao Mortel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Montreal
Website
shoptemp.com
XP
128
Country
Canada
Cmurda187 said:
So for a flash drive you mean like Usb stick or something else. DO I do this first before installing the droid exploit?
1- Yes
2- Yes
3- You did not asked but if I (maybe just me) would upgrade only to 3.15 if you still want to keep OtherOS option.
PSgroove(the name of the softmod) has increased compatibility of games so most games will work on 3.15 I think.
You can still go at 3.41 later if youre not satisfied with 3.15 but not the opposite
wink.gif
 

ThePowerOutage

The Lord of the Flyes
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
813
Trophies
0
Location
Vallhallah
XP
267
Country
Sao Mortel said:
Cmurda187 said:
So for a flash drive you mean like Usb stick or something else. DO I do this first before installing the droid exploit?
1- Yes
2- Yes
3- You did not asked but if I (maybe just me) would upgrade only to 3.15 if you still want to keep OtherOS option.
PSgroove(the name of the softmod) has increased compatibility of games so most games will work on 3.15 I think.
You can still go at 3.41 later if youre not satisfied with 3.15 but not the opposite
wink.gif
There isn't any point now, as you can use asbestOS with 3.41 and have the extra game compatability ect.
 

Cmurda187

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Location
The depths of HELL
XP
1,059
Country
United States
So I got the 3.41 update but how do I make sure its the right one? I mean I don't want to accidently update to 3.5 or something.

Edit : I put the update on my flash drive but the ps3 says no applicable update found.
 

Sephxus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
327
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pomona, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
49
Country
United States
Cmurda187 said:
So I got the 3.41 update but how do I make sure its the right one? I mean I don't want to accidently update to 3.5 or something.

Edit : I put the update on my flash drive but the ps3 says no applicable update found.

Is it on the update folder? Make a PS3 folder on the root of the flashdrive, then open it and make an UPDATE folder. Put the 3.41 firmware there.

*root of flashdrive*/ PS3/UPDATE/

*Name folders in CAPS
 

Cmurda187

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Location
The depths of HELL
XP
1,059
Country
United States
Ok its not working when I try load the freedom-droid . zip. when my phone boots back up it still allows me to make calls. Can't figure out what I am doing wrong? I followed the guide to the tee but its not working. A little help please.
 

Sephxus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
327
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pomona, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
49
Country
United States
Cmurda187 said:
Ok its not working when I try load the freedom-droid . zip. when my phone boots back up it still allows me to make calls. Can't figure out what I am doing wrong? I followed the guide to the tee but its not working. A little help please.
I have not used this method, so I can't help you figure out what you did wrong.
Maybe this will help you:

Check the description of the video
There are many other videos and tutorials online, check them out.
 

Cmurda187

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Location
The depths of HELL
XP
1,059
Country
United States
The only thing i noticed about the video is the kernel is a little different from mine. the first numbers are the same but after the dash its a little different. Still can get it to work. If anyone has modded their PS# with moto droid please pm me.

Edit: I ended up using psfMod to JB my ps3. It worked because now I have two folders in the XMB. I take it the install package is for the Backup loaders. The other is for the games? Correct? My only concern is about the payload. How do I know if it is on there correctly? I used the new one 3.41 with PSN and 3.50 spoofing. There were three different files when I unpacked the download and wasn't sure which one to use.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm fine with everything USB wise.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    USB is fine, but shouldn't it be replaced with bulky, hard to use cables and all sorts of proprietary male-female connector port shapes?
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's so frustrating to have one simple cable that you can plug in upside down for everything!!!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    USB4 can do up to 40gbps I'd welcome it
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    From a Linus video it's essentially just a type c with an advanced chip
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    40Gbps is just going to result in even more more lazy developers writing sub-optimal, lazy code.
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    How? That transfer speed is insane
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's like saying fast transfers is going to be the downfall of gaming
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Then when devs that actually do take their time makes people cry over them taking their time and having to wait even longer
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Very astute observations, but you failed to take into account people like me who prefer devs to take their time despite longer waits and really, really dislike the suboptimal approaches many studios are taking with game development in this day and age. Catering to the customers with impatient impulses for instant-gratification is a super-profitable business strategy in the short term, sure, but it is an untenable business strategy in the longer term simply because you cannot guarantee you can produce a quality game in that timespan repeatedly. Therefore, you will have to abuse your workforce or partake in other inethical practices in order to compete in the marketplace and remain profitable.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Not really a fail the general public just doesn't know how to wait I don't see what faster transfer speeds have to do with that
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's why GTA games are so great because they have that 5-10 year wait and most new sports games are updated roasters they can't really do much improvement with them because not much their is to improve but on the other hand you get a new cod game every year and it makes millions per year so why stop the cash flow if people are dumb enough to buy every new game peryear
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Awh that's sad
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    So... we got another Nintendo related Salt mine.
    +2
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    (which KiwiFarms had documented days before GBATemp lel)
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Is this about the Smash tournament that got cancelled?
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    saw the thread and it's mostly "Fuck Nintendo", as per usual when Nintendo does a Nintendo Thing
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Yes, the usual typical response for such a disgusting company.
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    eh, could be far worse than it is now, especially if you know anything about Disney in recent times
    .
    +2
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    but if you want to hear the Kiwifarms perspective about this latest saltmine...

    https://kiwifarms.net/threads/super-smash-bros-community.35026/post-13572258
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    Spoilers: it isn't 99% "FuckNintendo" posts
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Oh no no new smash bawwh
    +1
  • CupheadtheCritic @ CupheadtheCritic:
    I got LEGO Island to work without a disk and it's a good game.
    CupheadtheCritic @ CupheadtheCritic: I got LEGO Island to work without a disk and it's a good game.