1. Sephtenshi

    OP Sephtenshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hey guys!! I'm very new to the 3DS scene. I've been doing some reading but I must admit I'm pretty confused @[email protected], so I'll try and ask some questions here:

    1 - Do I have to use the browser exploit EVERYTIME I want to go to the CFW? So if I don't have internet I can't go to the 3drx cfw?

    2 - Is rx the "best" cfw? If not, how to update it to another one? My main interest is in playing backups, so that info might help.

    Thank you very much for all the attention and for the possible responses.
     
  2. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    1. You can also downgrade system settings to use the DS profile exploit, or you can upgrade to 9.0-9.2 and use menuhax to load your CFW automatically when you turn on your console. Neither of which need a connection to the net (beyond set up in the case of menuhax).

    2. For old 3DS yes, for new 3DS there are also Cakes and ReiNand, both of which are simpler to use/set up than rxtools but have less features.
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Jan 6, 2016
  3. Sephtenshi

    OP Sephtenshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    Mine is and O3DS, so I guess I'm sticking to rx.

    As for the methods you referred to, is the first one as simple as choosing the "downgrade mset on sysnand" on other options in rx tools? Do I need to put any files on my sd card?
     
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    I think you need to install a cia file with DevMenu. I'll find the guide with the info and link it. Give me a minute :-)

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-installing-rxtools-custom-firmware-3ds-and-2ds.390867/

    Look for the section called: Launching rxTools through the System Settings app - MSET!
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Jan 6, 2016
  5. Sephtenshi

    OP Sephtenshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'll give it a thorough reading! Thank you so much, man!
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions,