Hacking Some games not working

Thom41

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
United States
Just received the Acekard 2.1 about a week ago from DX, and some games don't work (like My Chinese Coach - it would freeze after the intro screen)
The rom itself is fine because I tried it on a DSTT and it works.

I'm not sure if I got a bad one or it's a common problem amongst Acekards.
Any insight?
 

ShaneC

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
Thom41 said:
Just received the Acekard 2.1 about a week ago from DX, and some games don't work (like My Chinese Coach - it would freeze after the intro screen)
The rom itself is fine because I tried it on a DSTT and it works.

I'm not sure if I got a bad one or it's a common problem amongst Acekards.
Any insight?


you could try the offical AceKard loader instead. If memory serves, it needs to be in the "__AIO/Loaders" directory...select it as the loader to use by pressing "Y" on the rom.
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
normmatt.com
XP
2,242
Country
New Zealand
ShaneC said:
Thom41 said:
Just received the Acekard 2.1 about a week ago from DX, and some games don't work (like My Chinese Coach - it would freeze after the intro screen)
The rom itself is fine because I tried it on a DSTT and it works.

I'm not sure if I got a bad one or it's a common problem amongst Acekards.
Any insight?


you could try the offical AceKard loader instead. If memory serves, it needs to be in the "__AIO/Loaders" directory...select it as the loader to use by pressing "Y" on the rom.

Official firmware sucks, He's reported it to me and i'll look into it soon.
 

fedgerama

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
112
Country
United States
Why do you all assume he's using AKAIO? If you're not using the latest AKAIO (v1.3), then please update your Acekard to that firmware. Trust me, its much better than the official firmware. I haven't found a game that doesn't work with AKAIO 1.3. If it doesn't work, or you already have AKAIO, try what the other people suggested, specifically using the official loader. If it STILL doesn't work, then just use the DSTT to play it.
 

Thom41

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
United States
Thanks for the responses, I am using the AKAIO firmware actually, and unfortunately, the DSTT is not mines.
 

ShaneC

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
Normmatt said:
ShaneC said:
Thom41 said:
Just received the Acekard 2.1 about a week ago from DX, and some games don't work (like My Chinese Coach - it would freeze after the intro screen)
The rom itself is fine because I tried it on a DSTT and it works.

I'm not sure if I got a bad one or it's a common problem amongst Acekards.
Any insight?


you could try the offical AceKard loader instead. If memory serves, it needs to be in the "__AIO/Loaders" directory...select it as the loader to use by pressing "Y" on the rom.

Official firmware sucks, He's reported it to me and i'll look into it soon.


My mistake - I was thinking AKAIO vs. AceKard loaders....
 

Thom41

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
United States
Sharpz said:
Perhaps try the Non-DMA mode?Hold A when the game starts up.

Blue Loading=Non-DMA Mode
Red Loading=DMA Mode

Ok, I tried this on the games, and they do work when I hold A as the game starts up,
Is this a rom-specific issue? and is there any way to bypass this?
 

Maz7006

iSEXu
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,649
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
Visit site
XP
577
Country
Thom41 said:
Sharpz said:
Perhaps try the Non-DMA mode?Hold A when the game starts up.

Blue Loading=Non-DMA Mode
Red Loading=DMA Mode

Ok, I tried this on the games, and they do work when I hold A as the game starts up,
Is this a rom-specific issue? and is there any way to bypass this?

Im sure there is a way to bypass it, try messing around in the options menu
 

doyama

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,288
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
United States
Try updating to the latest AKAIO loader which does address some DMA/savegame issues

http://akaio.gbatemp.net/loaders/

There isn't a global/per rom way to disable/enable DMA mode, since DMA compatibility issues are more the exception than the norm.

However please report any DMA mode issues to the AKAIO ROM compatibility page

http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/AKA...M_Compatibility

Any game loading issues, that are not resolved via disabling DMA should be reported to the bugdar

http://akaio.gbatemp.net/bugdar/
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ancientboi slept with Charles Babbage for a pc
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    And his was BIG 😱
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    20kbps connection
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AncientBoi, That's what she said. :rofl2:
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Actually they say 400 years ago 1cm was pretty average so Juan wouldn't feel left out
    +2
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    oh my...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ffs officials are closed on juneteenth guess it's fairly new became federal in 21:rofl2:
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I figured you'd be down at the parade anyways.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nah I still own slaves just ask ancientboi his nicknames mister slave
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Poor Lemmiwinks...
  • ModernSithLord @ ModernSithLord:
    @BigOnYa Great episode, camp of tolerance
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Thanks, we try to make every episode, special.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I saw a $15 south park bundle box at Walmart kinda wish I bought it
    +2
  • ModernSithLord @ ModernSithLord:
    I remember seeing the movie when I was young, made me swear up a storm when I got home. lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'm gonna buy it if I see it there tomorrow
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That beanie will look good on you, Kentman
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It would look better on urewife it would be like boning myself
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Started a new game last night called "The Quarry", pretty damn good. Feels/ looks like a movie. About a summer camp where local town folks go crazy and hunt down the campers.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I beat it when it first came out good playback ability
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What's crazy is I have 3tb in my SeriesX , and its almost full. Of course with some of these games being over 150gb each, it don't take long.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I wish gamepass sold 12 month cards (with a discount), instead of 3 month only.
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Hi