softmodded xbox booted back to ms dash, how do i switch back?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by Sean Barry, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    I got an old original xbox which was running xbmc. I must have turned it on with the CD tray open and it has reverted back to the Microsoft dashboard. How do I switch back to xbmc? I know it is softmodded because the labels underneath are intact so it hasn't been opened. I don't know however which softmod was used. Anybody know any key presses or boot methods to switch back to xbmc? Thanks!
     
  2. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored

    Member
    3,278
    1,250
    Jul 7, 2010
    United States
    /dev/random
    Rebooting should work.
     
    TeamScriptKiddies likes this.
  3. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    No luck rebooting, it keeps reverting to MS dash.
    Also unplugged as cmos battery no longer holds a charge, but always it boots back to MS dash.
     
  4. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    Looks like the softmod may have failed, if so does anyone have any recovery advice?
     
  5. DinohScene

    DinohScene Capture the Dino

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    16,087
    12,615
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Xbox doesn't have a battery, it's got a capacitor to keep track of time.
    Boot the box by pressing eject.
    Does the softmod menu boot up?
     
  6. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    Looks like the xbox is dying, video just failed. I'll need to open it up and re-glue the chips.
    We'll just have to see will it come back from the dead.
     
  7. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored

    Member
    3,278
    1,250
    Jul 7, 2010
    United States
    /dev/random
    At least your avatar is appropriate.
     
    TeamScriptKiddies likes this.
  8. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    I don't think I'll let this one die just yet. The thermal paste on chips breaks down over a few years. Some new paste should put a bit of life back in this old dog, and if not I'll bury it in the garden :-)
     
    TeamScriptKiddies likes this.
  9. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored

    Member
    3,278
    1,250
    Jul 7, 2010
    United States
    /dev/random
    In some stories he is in charge of death, you can be prevented from dying if he so chooses.
     
    TeamScriptKiddies likes this.
  10. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015

    Got the video back! Booted with eject button but it still goes to MS dashboard.
     
  11. DinohScene

    DinohScene Capture the Dino

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    16,087
    12,615
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Hmm seems that the alternate dash's launcher is missing.
    resoftmodding is the only option then.
     
  12. emmanu888

    emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Member
    1,283
    411
    Jan 25, 2009
    Canada
    Victoriaville,Québec
    As a last measure though, try holding the power button while booting up the Xbox. You never know if the console has a modchip instead of a softmod.
     
  13. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    Tried holding power, but it looks like a softmod. I do see SID installer on HD. Will get a game which will help me reboot softmod, splinter cell looks like best option.
     
    TeamScriptKiddies likes this.
  14. Sean Barry
    OP

    Sean Barry Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    2
    Mar 8, 2015
    Tried booting with power button pressed but didn't work. I took a look inside and no hardware modchip, in HD files there is a mechwarrior and SID save so definitely softmodded. Will get mechwarrior or splintercell/007/etc to try rerunning the SID file. We'll give it a try this weekend.