softmodded xbox booted back to ms dash, how do i switch back?

Sean Barry

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
78
Country
I got an old original xbox which was running xbmc. I must have turned it on with the CD tray open and it has reverted back to the Microsoft dashboard. How do I switch back to xbmc? I know it is softmodded because the labels underneath are intact so it hasn't been opened. I don't know however which softmod was used. Anybody know any key presses or boot methods to switch back to xbmc? Thanks!
 

Sean Barry

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
78
Country
Looks like the xbox is dying, video just failed. I'll need to open it up and re-glue the chips.
We'll just have to see will it come back from the dead.
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,882
Trophies
2
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
5,486
Country
United States
I don't think I'll let this one die just yet. The thermal paste on chips breaks down over a few years. Some new paste should put a bit of life back in this old dog, and if not I'll bury it in the garden :-)

In some stories he is in charge of death, you can be prevented from dying if he so chooses.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TeamScriptKiddies

Sean Barry

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
78
Country
As a last measure though, try holding the power button while booting up the Xbox. You never know if the console has a modchip instead of a softmod.

Tried holding power, but it looks like a softmod. I do see SID installer on HD. Will get a game which will help me reboot softmod, splinter cell looks like best option.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TeamScriptKiddies

Sean Barry

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
78
Country
As a last measure though, try holding the power button while booting up the Xbox. You never know if the console has a modchip instead of a softmod.

Tried booting with power button pressed but didn't work. I took a look inside and no hardware modchip, in HD files there is a mechwarrior and SID save so definitely softmodded. Will get mechwarrior or splintercell/007/etc to try rerunning the SID file. We'll give it a try this weekend.
 

Nathan-91

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
57
Country
United Kingdom
I know this Post is Old but it may be Because your Time and Date need to be Set Correctly. Do this and Reboot the System and Voila! Should be Sorted :-)
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrCokeacola

Nathan-91

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
57
Country
United Kingdom
No that would have caused a boot loop. Luckily all semi-current dashes don't use the xbox's clock anymore.

Cool, Just a Thought was all :-) Hope it was Sorted for the Guy though its a nightmare when you can't figure something out even when competant in what you are doing
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I thought PS4/5 and Xbox One emulation would be kind of easy since they basically just a PC
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    they sorta are a pc
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They haslve dedicated on board chips that aren't tweaked like x64/x32 afaik
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    but its a custom os for both of them
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    designed for only specific hardware
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    so you have to learn to emulate that specific hardware which isn't as easy as you'd think
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's a locked down Linux distro basically
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think the only custom hardware is to do with the SSD and a security chip
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Probably combined in one chip
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They place married security chips onto boards iirc
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Damn Frontier is offering 5Gbps now lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I honestly can't recommend any of the big 3 this years I'd say buy a rog ally z1 if we're being honest
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Honestly after the PS3 and 360 I just went full PC
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Every games basically cross platform they only have about 6 titles making it worth the $600 price tag
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Didn't see much need for a console, all the advantages have kind of disappeared
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    the ps3 used to support installing linux because the cpu was so powerful
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Then the games are $70 and they want to reboot and refresh the same game every year
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The ps3 was always Linux they just found a way to make it open source
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    I'm avoiding buying from the big 3 at all atm
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    At one point PC game pads where poorly supported, loading a game had setup, it was complicated. Now it's almost as easy as a console.
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    nintendo needs to up their game soon
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah even bt support for Xbox one controllers are just as easy as pairing
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    considering the steamdeck can emulate the switch (yikes) theres almost 0 reason to buy the switch apart from playing online and using cartridges
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Xinput and 360 dongles were a driver nightmare
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I remember having to manually put in drivers and what not
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: I remember having to manually put in drivers and what not