Softmodded wii today; SO many problems.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by z0wnage, Feb 7, 2011.

Feb 7, 2011
  1. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    I softmodded via Smash Stack (4.3u) and have encountered many issues. I don't even know where to begin. For starters, once I softmodded my wii, I went and burned Melee (Gamecube) to a DVD-RW. I put it in the wii, and (I have an older wii and darkcorp) it didn't load in the regular disk channel, neo gamma, or GC backup launcher. I google searched and thought I found my issue. I went and installed the HB browser followed by DVDx. DVDx had an error installing, something about a stub. Lame. Also, when I tried installing WiiMC, it failed and said something about accessing NANDs. At first, I thought I should start the process over, but apparently that isn't so simple. Please help.
     
  2. cojiro

    Member cojiro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    did you install a cMIOS?
     
  3. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes. I'm not entirely sure which one.
     
  4. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you've installed a cMIOS (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=219243). If that doesn't work, burn the game to a DVD-R or +R, preferably the earlier.
     
  5. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, I installed the cMIOS you linked me, and it didn't do anything. I still get the stub error and "Unable to access NANDs". I tried to redo the process using the Modmii wizard, but I couldn't even download the files without getting errors for every single one. Nothing ever works for me. [​IMG]
     
  6. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Modmii errors: do you have .NET 3.5?
    cMIOS: stub error doesn't make sense...they're should be a normal MIOS there that you should be able to overwrite....
    DVD-RW: if you haven't already had luck using RW's, don't be surprised if you never get it to work....as mentioned in an earlier post, -R's preferrable, +R's will work if the drive isn't super old

    what are you using to install wads?
    what version of HBC are you on?
    do you have IOS236 installed?
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,895
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming your Wii can play disc backups, you just need to have a cMIOS installed, the latest NeoGamma, and cIOS249 installed.
     
  8. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Well, first thing, chances are if you followed any sort of recent guide, it would've linked you directly to getting Homebrew Channel 1.0.8. This latest version of the HBC eliminated the usage of DVDX, as in there is no point in having it, as a new exploit known as AHBPROT was developed (and this is installed alongside Homebrew Channel).

    Second, have you installed a Trucha Bug'd IOS? If no, run the IOS236 Installer that is linked here and then see if you get NAND access. From there, you can then use WAD Managers to install cIOS, and a patch program to get cMIOS.

    Final note, are you sure your Wii does not have a D3-2 drive? Any Wii purchased later than 2009 will have one, as well as all black and red Wii consoles. You cannot play DVD backups on Wii consoles with a D3-2 drive.
     
  9. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed the ios236. Still no NAND access on WiiMC. I did, however, get .NET 3.5 and will try the wizard tomorrow and re-do the whole process. If all else fails from there on, I'll get some DVD-Rs and see if that works. Thanks for the input.
     
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What does ios236 have to do with Wiimc?
    You should take note of what people are saying. You need the guidance.
    Wii modding is VERY easy and, it takes only a few steps.
    Don't use DARCORP.
    To get the Wii to load backups from HDD and DVD-r will take only 10~15 minutes .

    Try to get moddmii working. Follow the guide and enjoy your perfectly modded Wii.

    These are the basics:
    Get the HBC installed>Install ios236 on your Wii> install a CIOS using 236 to acces your Wii ( trucha )> Install a Cmios ( Wiipower's is higly recommended )
    Get the apps on your SD card to load backups. ( neogamma for GC, one of the many usb loaders )
    Done. 10 to 15 minutes well spent in your life. Without sweat and tears.

    Doing this using/ following modmii makes everything a 1000 times easier and safe.
     
  11. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol trust me, it's frustrating as all hell compared to my previous softmods (iPod and ps3). thanks for the guidance and I'll utilize your tips asap.
     
  12. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I partially agree with you. Compared to wii hacking, hacking a psp is a breeze (I almost felt disappointed by it).

    But still...after reading your opening post, it was very clear you not only followed an outdated guide, but that you also hadn't bothered to find out what all the terms meant ('nand' and 'stub' are to wii hacking like 'steering wheel' and 'gas' are to a car). Suffice to say that's not the best way of going about things. [​IMG]
     
  13. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    To fix the wiimc installer install the latest IOS 58 without any patches to it. I'meadiately after thaty remove the HBC restart the wii then reinstall it again. Run the wiimc installer and it should go.

    For the other problems make sure you have a CIOS 249 installed before you run the MIOS patcher.
     
  14. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Mios patcher is waninkoko's, wich is not recommended . Wiipowers Cmios is far better and has a lot of fixes for games ( Zelda WW etc. )
    Take a look at the NEOGAMMA sticky thread under backuploading if you want to load gamecube games.

    In order to load GC backups using Neogamma, you need Waninkoko's cios installed in slot 249 ( base 56 recommended )

    You can down load a separate ios 58 installer ( tantric ) to get the ios. ( via homebrew browser also )

    Still recommend Modmii, no need of Wifi, just all the files on your sd card and install with wadmanager. Simple.
     
  15. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Intresting though no the MIOS Patcher app was released by wiigator. Either way Wiigator or Wiipower's CMIOS are both great for the purpose.
     
  16. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Re-did the process and everything works fine BUT I still can't play my iso of Melee on my DVD-RW (Probably I just need a good DVD-R) or strangely the same iso on my flash drive...
     
  17. z0wnage
    OP

    Newcomer z0wnage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Never mind about the USB thing... Just found out you can't play GC games from USB.
     

Share This Page