SoftMod A Modchipped Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Wiinie, Dec 3, 2008.

Dec 3, 2008

SoftMod A Modchipped Wii by Wiinie at 7:05 PM (1,104 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Wiinie
    OP

    Newcomer Wiinie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if it was possible to do a Soft-Mod on a Mod chipped Wii. My friend is having troubles reading games with his old mod-chipped Wii. So i was wondering if It was Possible to saftley do a Soft-Mod on it? Would there be any side-effects?
     
  2. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If he's having problems with a chipped Wii reading discs, he's only going to have more problems trying to use a softmod.
     
  3. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Just boot those games with geckoOS. They're most likely bad burns though.
     
  4. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or the chip isnt installed properlly.
     
  5. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Or a clapped out wii lens............
     
  6. Wiinie
    OP

    Newcomer Wiinie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    The main reason i ask, is if the odchip went out, is it ok to leave it in there and do a soft-mod on it.
    I dont think it went out though because it can still read games south of Super Mario Galaxy. Anything newer and it wont read. Doesnt matter what type of DVD-R.
    Also It wont update. Dont know why he tried to update, but it always fails.
     
  7. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada
    i would update the modchip....i dont have a drive chip myself, however i know most modchips offer upgrades... so try that..
     
  8. Wiinie
    OP

    Newcomer Wiinie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    It wont take that update either.
     
  9. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    We're gonna need more detail in full to figure out what's going on here. What kind of modchip? What version Wii? Have you tried burns on another computer - it could be your burner is fuzzing out. What firmware is the Wii at right now?
     
  10. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    There would be no side effect doing softmod on a chiped wii. So you can try without problem.

    Only known potential problem is with DVDx but it was only used by first leaked softmod.
     

Share This Page