Softmii 3.0 problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sypherian, Jun 28, 2009.

Jun 28, 2009

Softmii 3.0 problem by Sypherian at 11:44 AM (1,938 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    first of all i know i should ask the softmii people and i tried that but they cant seem to answer my question, the truth is i think they are having just as big a problem finding heads and tail in that guide as i am.

    so was hoping one of you guys had completed the install thru the guide im doing the online install dont have a lu wii and its system menu 4,0 no softmods has been installed before.




    i've just finished chapter 8 in the guide

    (note not sure it's important but in chapter 7 it says to save the bootmii and elf/dol file on the computer for later use did this and removed the two files from the SD card not sure if i've made a mistake here or not)

    and im about to install the cios36rev10, im doing the online install and i dont have a lu wii so am i supposed to use cioscorp or softcorp or possibly both and would it be recommended to run the cios rev13a or b to avoid the 002 error in the future??

    hope you guys can help me

    and thank you in advance.

    Sypherian

    P.S. hope it is all right to post this here and i apologize in advance if i overstepped some boundaries.
     
  2. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    softcorp/cioscorp is only for disc loading from the disk channel, so if u want that then run it but it can cause problems with some things, ive been running ciosrev13b without any hitches so far
     
  3. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    thx mate, just thought cioscorp was necessary because it's patched with trucha. Allready have Hb in so all i need as far as i understand is to install rev 13B run the shop installer and install preloader
     
  4. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    iso downgrader patches trucha into the ios's also, cioscorp just adds trucha and the dip modual to run from disc channel =]
     
  5. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    sorry for all the questions im a bit nooby at this softmodding buisness, so if i run ios downgrader and then install rev13, shop installer (dont even know why this is necessary when you softmod from 4.0 system) and then install neogamma and preloader 29 i should be fine right
     
  6. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    so i've installed rev 13 and i've followed the softmii 3.0 guide to where it tells you to run the shop installer the problem is when it asks to install the ios 60 i say yes and if i wanna patch the sig hash check i say yes the it starts downloading and says tcp timeout http request failed and it quits back to hbc.

    so my question is, is it important to run this shop installer or can i just skip to the preloader 29 install right away??
     
  7. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    If thats what deals with patching IOS60 it doesn't have to do with the shop channel exactly. Shop channel deals with IOS61. Patching IOS60 is for being able to load installed wads of any channels you have (HBC might not work, not sure on that though) from the SD card menu.
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    well if you run this firmware updater it does the shop channel this for you.
     
  9. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    my firmwae is allready at 4.0U

    just got my wii two weeks ago and updated it to 4.0

    until now i've used hackmii to install hbc and dvdx and ran bootmii could'nt do the boot2 only to ios saved the bootmii folder and boot.elf files on my computer for later use and deleted them from my sd card, then i ran hbc and opened DVDx_fw3.4_comex. downgraded ios and ran patchmii, then i installed cios rev13B and now im stuck at this shop installer thingy in the guide (did'nt run softcorp or cioscorp since i was told they were'nt necessary unless you wanted to run games from disc menu)
     
  10. mtb-bfh

    Newcomer mtb-bfh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    perhaps this is your subtle clue that you shouldn't be using it?

    not my choice to make, and you didn't step on any toes posting it here, but there's plenty of people here posting that they're happily using their consoles without any of these poorly-conceived mega bundles, so I wonder what would motivate somebody to stick with something that isn't even supported well by its own developers and has scene veterans panning it when there are other options.
     
  11. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SoftMii came out already? Wow, I guess no one really does care [​IMG]
     
  12. Sypherian
    OP

    Newcomer Sypherian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yeah i know you're right and i must admit that this softmii bundle is an utter disapointment, not only is it messy and disorganized, but they can't even give support on their own freaking bundle, but my problem at the moment is i've allready started softmodding my wii, and as far as im aware i have'nt been doing or running an hack that is'nt normally used so im just trying to find the safest and fastest way to an solution that can deviate me away from their guide and bundle, so that i with a little luck end up with a softmodded wii, and my best solution to achieve this goal is by asking you guys and for that i must apologize since the most of you guys have been intelligent enough to either keep away from softmii 3.0 or knew excactly what you were doing with the hacks in the bundle, intel is the key and i should have done far more research before taking up this softmii 3.0 package.

    as i see it there are two ways i can do this

    1. find something to remove and erase all changes i've made so far on my wii and find a new way to softmod my wii that isnt so cryptic


    or

    2. find out how to get freeloader 29 in on my wii with out cluster f**king my wii and its system files so i get a brick

    hope some of you can give me a hint on how to do one of the things and i wanna thank you for all the help i've receivede until now with out your help i would have been screwed even more

    Sypherian
     

Share This Page