SoftChip with a modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Muyfa666, Mar 20, 2009.

Mar 20, 2009

SoftChip with a modchip? by Muyfa666 at 3:38 PM (1,330 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Muyfa666
    OP

    Member Muyfa666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well the title says it all...

    Can I and should I install SoftChip even if I have a modchip in my Wii?

    If yes, should I just install the latest wad and have fun, or do I also need to install a bunch of ios files?

    Sorry if this been asked before, but I'm really confused about this SoftChip thing.
     
  2. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes you can and you donĀ“t need to install anything (if you use the HBC) you only need to set the IOS to 36 and run the game
     
  3. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    (edit) Got beat to it [​IMG]
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    SoftChip is a general purpose Wii game launcher. With a modchip(or with originals) it's best to use either IOS36 or the IOS requested by the game.
     
  5. Muyfa666
    OP

    Member Muyfa666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    Sweden
    So I just install R85 wad from the SoftChip thread and start using it?
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I would use R87, you don't have to use SoftChip, but you can, so why not try and take a look. And using .dols for testing might be a better idea, if you don't like SoftChip, you have a less fragmented nand then.
     
  7. Muyfa666
    OP

    Member Muyfa666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wait, what?

    Fragmented nand? That does not sound good at all.

    Any way to defrag it?
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    No way to defrag it. What i meant is: You don't want to do any unnecessary reads or writes to your nand. Ok actually there isn't any danger, but doing it too much could damage the nand.
     
  9. Muyfa666
    OP

    Member Muyfa666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ok, I get ya.

    I tried SoftChip R87... and it's nothing short of amazing!

    It's exactly what I was looking for. MadWorld, and all my other NTSC games boots perfectly in 60hz.

    :-)
     

Share This Page