Soft Mod or Hard Mod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by booboo88, Dec 11, 2008.

Dec 11, 2008

Soft Mod or Hard Mod by booboo88 at 3:34 AM (2,654 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. booboo88
    OP

    Newcomer booboo88 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Is the soft mod or hard mod better for the Wii?
     


  2. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    depends for wii backup i would get a modchip but for other homebrew needs I would use a softmod like HBC.
     
  3. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Hard mod is better, but you should have both.
    One to play backups/out of region games and the other to use emulators, wiiware, VC games etc.
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Well, I must say that if you have both like me, you'll get the best of both worlds.

    With modchip you are able to run games at 6x speed.

    With HBC, you'll be able to install WiiWare (arrgh!) and VC (Another Arggh!) games, downgrade your
    firmware and such and such. IT"S ENDLESS
     
  5. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    very true, but is he taking about softmod hardmod, as in just the tackle to play backups...?
    No doubt about it modchip will always be the way to go, got a new wii recently oh dear...?
     
  6. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands

    lawl you're right
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    hard cos its more stable and faster than the loaders, can't be blocked plus you can load GC discs.
     
  8. harryk

    Member harryk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    Austria
    Why would anyone Hardmod their Wii anymore if they just want to play backups?

    Softmodding provides Homebrew AND backup support, so it's the way to go.
    The 3x / 6x speed is bogus, 3x support is so good today that you barely notice a difference (if at all).

    People telling you to hardmod might just be pissed that they've spent money for chips and now pretend it's "better". It's not necessary and it voids warranty.

    Answer: Softmod!
    unless you're a programmer and plan to try weird stuff on your Wii so you would constantly brick it.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    softmod isnt going to be around 4ever nintendo will block it its only a matter of time. when that happens i'll still be happily using my chip [​IMG]
     
  10. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a valid point, but YOU'RE ONLY IN WARRANTY FOR SO LONG.
    Makes sense to Softmod it whilst in warranty, Warranty ran out? I would hardmod it,
    i hard modded mine soon as Wiinja released the 1st gen chip, couldn't care less about "warranty" i mean come on how cheap is the wii wii
     
  11. harryk

    Member harryk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    Austria
    Why wouldn't softmodding be around forever?
    As long as you don't update from Nintendo servers (there's always a way around with still keeping all necessary new components), you will always keep it.

    The first modchips have been blocked, too, btw. So.
     
  12. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly, yeah and Nintendo could implement the 001 inside the wii system menu, making you have to DISABLE your chip, but they havent and wont do that.....

    That's why i have to use either geckoOS or trucha sign them, i just use geckoOS all the time, even for my older games like TP lol, GeckoOS has replaced disc for me [​IMG] i never trucha a game apart from which you have to [​IMG]

    Nintendo can block all modchips "inside menu" simple as that, depending on what you think, go either soft or hard......
     
  13. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    well a hardmod is the only way to play gamecube backups right now. i got my wii chipped before all this softmodding happened.

    a softmod is probably a better choice since it's free, but if you're unhappy with that a hardmod is the only way to go since the compatibility is much better.
     
  14. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is actually 100% hehe
    Not for me though, think i narrow it to 99.9% due to this new 002 i cant bypass at the minute, come on Mr Nuke, hehe
     
  15. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm happy with my modchip. Never had any problems with a game. So no 'will this work, is it compatible?' every time, I just burn the disc and it will work.
     
  16. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i also like the fact with a chip i can just put a disc in and it will start right away. no having to go through extra channels and bs (AKA loaders)
     
  17. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah that is "so true" like i said at the minute because i'm a 1st gen chip user, i'm not 100% normore, till Nukes releases the geckoOS fix for 002 error, but like i said there is only a few games with 002, so i narrow it down to 99.9% true compatibility [​IMG]
     
  18. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    i am a HUGE fan of the sofmod backup loader. but i have never had a successfully installed hardmod either. i bought a Cyclowiz v.2 but after purchasing it i realize my processor was the one processor that wasn't compatible with that chip. as far as loading backups, i have had only about 4 games i have backedup that wasn't compatible with Gamma.
     
  19. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    by the way dj, what's the news with Gecko OS 2.0?

    And topic creator, I suggest if you have the money, go for hard mod. Look for an older Nintendo Wii set (He didn't state that he has a Wii [​IMG]), because the newer has the revision-ed motherboard meaning can't install modchip. Once you got your Wii, ask around for an online utility that checks what modchip is for your Wii by giving its serial.

    After you install modchip, you can safely play with homebrew.
     
  20. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All i know is from our convo which i posted a few weeks ago, he hasn't added anything into his bog site etc, so i assume he's still working on it, for the USB usersmainly, but he will release a 2.00 For Non USB Users like most of us... [​IMG]
    I will message him later today see what's happening [​IMG]
     

Share This Page