So... Why doesn't DeSmuMe use .SAV files why?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by twiztidsinz, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    If you ask me, it's seriously effing retarded.

    I know all about the Import/Export backup memory BS, which is "fine" for EXPORTING, but blows the big one for IMPORTING.
    Usually Load Game -> Import Backup Memory -> Reset works, but for some games they just don't want to load.

    I've tried the save directly off my Acekard (512k, which No$GBA reads perfectly fine) and the save 'converted' by No$GBA (57.1k), and neither will work.
    I've tried putting both the above saves into the \battery folder and deleting the .dsv file and loading the game up and that doesn't work either.


    Is there a converter anywhere for SAV to DSV? I think I found one but it's like a 3 step process and involves installing a few programs, which I'd like to avoid.

    Eh... seems the issue is with the particular game (Phantasy Star 0), but my points still stand.
    I just need to find the Save Size option, wherever it is...
     
  2. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
  3. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Just changing the file extension from .sav to .dsv and putting it in the right folder has always worked for me.

    It doesn't appear to work with Phantasy Star though.
     
  4. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's to do with the save size... but I have no clue where to change it on DeSmuMe.
     
  5. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    there's no option for that.

    look at my post. [​IMG]
    those are save converters with save size options
     
  6. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    In No$GBA, this means the actual setting option, but I don't know where it is in DeSmuMe, and it doesn't make sense NOT to have it since sometimes SAVE FILE SIZE/TYPES ARE DETECTED INCORRECTLY and you typically need a manual override in those cases.
     
  7. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    IIRC, older desmume versions have the savetype option, but for some reason they removed it.

    i'm sorry, i didn't know that you already tried those. well. you're stuck with no$gba+no$zoomer. use opengl instead of nocash in 3d render.
     
  8. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to get the Memory viewer of DesMuMe... I had tried to make some codes earlier, but the problem was the slot they edited (it was fixed) I want to see if playing around with an actual save will get me any better insight.
    Maybe I can try an older version.
     
  9. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    While it was removed, it's still in the French version of some versions of the emulator, so try changing the language. ^^;;
     
  10. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Still not sure where it would be... and I don't read French so it'd be unlikely for me to find it.
    And if it was there under one language and not any others, that'd most likely mean the language file is old and probably won't work -- though I could be wrong.
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    French is basically English, but all fancy-like.

    Mostly everything will look like its English counterpart.
     
  12. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm... yeah I think I found it: Media de sauvgarde
    But it's only got one option, Autodetect.
     

Share This Page