Snes9x emulator not working

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Zendo, Sep 21, 2010.

Sep 21, 2010

Snes9x emulator not working by Zendo at 5:06 PM (4,682 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
    Hey,


    I want to play snes on my psp, but whenever I'm trying to turn snes9x, it just crash, and I have to restart my psp everytime. I'm using the latest Prometheus version 2.

    Is the emulator to old, or is it something wrong with the CFW which is not compatiblity to the emulator?

    What is the best snes emulator out today btw.? Tried to googling around, but mostly says snes9x, but I'm having a bad experience with it.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's many versions.

    SNES9XTYL0.4.2mecm is the version I'm using, and it works fine.

    What model PSP do you have, what firmware?
     
  3. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
    Hey,


    I have PSP-1000, the phat one. I'm using the latest CFW Prometheus V-2.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which SNES9X version?
     
  5. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  7. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    or you could try the retro emulator sticky here.
     
  8. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
    Aaah, Great! It's working. Just a question. It's not so very important though, but it says I have to copy 2 folders in my psp/game. When I did it, and turned my psp on, there is 2 corrupted files which is snes9xTYL% and snes9xTYL.

    Is it supposed to be like that?
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, you want the one from the sticky then.
     
  10. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
    Yes, is it possible? Which one am I supposed to delete?
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Erase it and get the version from the sticky.
     
  12. Zendo
    OP

    Newcomer Zendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Albania
    Uuuh, okey now this sound very strange. Suddenly nothing is working. I tried to delete one of the folder, but when I turn the snes emulator, I gett error message. I tried to copy both of the folder back as it was before, and now its' not working. Any clue what am Is supposed to do?
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Delete it all and download the version linked in the sticky?
     
  14. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There isn't supposed to be two folders.

    The one in the % folder (I always forget what it means) but its a different eboot which you switch with the other eboot if it's not working (Something to do with 1.50 kernel I think but I'm not sure)

    Edit: but yeah download from the sticky
     
  15. default_user

    Newcomer default_user Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I am having similar problems with the Prometheus Addon.

    The prometheus 5.50 update to GEN D3 was made available in 2010 and this R5 update in 2011 still doesn't work? I would understand if there were major problems with the update for the CFW but I have heard online that this emulator works on GEN D3 without prometheus. Why has the small prometheus update made this emulator incompatible all of a sudden?
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The versions linked in the sticky are what I used on Gen D3 with the Prome addon, and they worked just fine. You may just want to try a reinstall.

    Also, the Prome addon (and Gen in general) is dead, Prometheus moved on to help found the PRO firmware, which is the current suggested firmware.
     
  17. default_user

    Newcomer default_user Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Figured out the problem. There's no plans on updating fixes for the Prometheus Addon. But there is another solution. Get your PSP updated to CFW PRO B10, which is pretty much the same as the Prometheus Addon anyway. B10 is very much the same since it can permanently replace the OFW using the CIPL patcher. So for those of you who are unsure about the updating to B10, go for it and R5 works just fine.
     
  18. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,288
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    If only the PSP version of Snes9x had as good as SPC700 emulation the PC/Mac versions had. Just saying....but I can see that the PSP is quite the homebrew machine.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well aren't the ports made off of 1.42 or 1.43 or wherever the team stopped public updates for like 2/3 years while re-writing the sound core?
     

Share This Page