Snes VC game injection

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by teamolori, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    Hey guys, I'm seeing that people are making their own snes VC injections for New Nintendo 3DS but I can't find not one place where someone explain how to do it. I also searched in your search engine, but can't find any thread on the subject. Someone could explain me how? Thank you
     
  2. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    From what I have seen you have to decrepit a snesvc cia file and then you have to use a hex editor to change some values in the code. There was a thread on gbatemp give me a minute and I can link it.

    Edit: https://gbatemp.net/threads/help-snes-vc-decrypting-doesnt-work.417354/
    look through this

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I do wish though that someone would make a real tutorial though
     
    teamolori likes this.
  3. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
  4. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,458
    2,673
    Sep 1, 2010
    I'm slowly working on an application to generate the data files for running the SNES games. If I ever get some time to work on it, I'll probably get around to finishing it this week.
     
    kn1v3s likes this.
  5. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    What files are these? Like the data.bin?
     
  6. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,458
    2,673
    Sep 1, 2010
    Yeah. It's going to be able to read information from the SNES ROM and generate a data.bin file that you just have to insert, and rebuild your ROM file.
     
  7. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    Wow that sounds nice! Im following that tutorial I linked atm and while its straight forward it is very long
     
  8. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    Thank you very much for your responses!! I will try to inject some game and I'll tell you the result.
     
    Returnofganon likes this.
  9. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    I injected super starwars and it works great!
     
  10. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    I followed the tutorial and it worked successfully with several games of Dragon Ball. Thank you very much for your help :toot:. I am salivating now because I installed some custom gba cias, and when the games start the screen goes black and the console is frozen. Anyone has this happened?
     
    Returnofganon likes this.
  11. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    Have you installed the gba cia on your system nand as well as emunand?
     
  12. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    Is installed in the emunand
     
  13. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    you have to do both. Look up a tutorial on how to do that through rxtools
     
  14. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    I'm looking for information and I see that rxtools is a cfw, but I use the gateway card. How I can do this with my gateway card?
     
  15. Returnofganon

    Returnofganon I pretend like I know what I'm talking about

    Member
    529
    190
    Jul 1, 2015
    United States
    I have no experience with gateway. If you have emunand you should be able to install rxtools.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —



    I skimmed this video this might be something but idk. Do it at your own risk
     
  16. teamolori
    OP

    teamolori Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    2
    Jan 26, 2014
    I'm making my own games successfully, but I often encounter with the limitation that some games have the Super FX chip. Is there a way to emulate these games? Do any official game of Nintendo eShop has this functionality?
     
  17. Yeloazndevil

    Yeloazndevil GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    177
    42
    Nov 24, 2005
    United States
    California
    snes vc doesn't support games that have chips like superfx. The only thing you can do is get a snes emulator like catsfc or wait for Nintendo to update the snes emulator to support those chips
     
  18. WiiUBricker

    WiiUBricker Fake News Reporter

    Member
    6,868
    3,826
    Sep 19, 2009
    Argentina
    Espresso
    Quick question: Nintendo uses US Roms for SNES games on N3DS that run at 60Hz. If I inject a PAL game, for example Terranigma, will it a) run at 50Hz, b) run at 60Hz or c) doesn't run at all?
     
  19. Gurumeditation

    Gurumeditation Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    May 18, 2016
    Gambia, The
    TERRANIGMA =>
    The German PAL version dont run with this snes emu from nintendo, but:
    I have patched a german Terranigma version with an ntsc patch. Now the game start without an error message
    but you cant hear the sound :P

    So i hope anybody find a solution for this issue.

    PS: Yes my english is horrible. Sorry :D

    PSS: Oh and =>
    Hi i have created a german Chrono Trigger Version with the translation files of manu löwe. its an optimized german version [​IMG]