SMT: Devil Survivor Name Hack

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by RemedyYulaAtha, Oct 19, 2012.

Oct 19, 2012
  1. RemedyYulaAtha
    OP

Newcomer RemedyYulaAtha Newbie

So I have been messing around with the Hex editor, but as I have no knowledge of how to use it at all, I always end up with the save data corrupted.

I really need someone who is experienced to help!! I know this game is old and not many people have the time to bother with me but please hear me out.

The thing is I want to hack the SAV file for the game to change the Player Character's name. I also want want to bypass the Character limit set for the name.

This is what I want to do.
    I want to change my current player name:

"Kazuya Mngshi"

To:

"Kazuya Minegishi"

Because of the character limit, the name Minegishi is squished into Mngshi. I want to bypass that character limit and I don't know if you need to hack the ROM or SAV itself. Whenever I try opening up with the HxD Hex Editor, I can't find my player name.

I wish someone can help me. It's like hacking a Pokemon name and making it longer than the character limit. Please help if you know or are bored and want to do something!!
    PLEASE T^T

2. Auryn

Member Auryn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Switzerland
    I will answer your question about if you have to hack the savegame or the rom with a question:
    What is a savegame??

Anyway the answer to the bigger question is: it's out of your capabilities to do that.

3. RemedyYulaAtha
    OP

Newcomer RemedyYulaAtha Newbie

Indeed it is out of my capabilities. I'm no programmer, but considering the amount of people who are experienced here, there oughta be someone who knows. It's only a matter of whether that person decides to help out or not, it is why I turn to this community.