SMG2 problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rockolate, Jul 1, 2010.

Jul 1, 2010

SMG2 problem by Rockolate at 11:34 PM (2,672 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I have a 2007 Wii that I softmodded myself in order to run backup disks. That was a while ago, and everything worked out fine, I could play every backup I inserted, I even downgraded it to 3.2U back when 4.2 was dangerous.

    I recently got Super Mario Galaxy 2 and haven't been able to run it on my Wii. I've tried everything, I've followed many guides (including THE guide, but no matter what NeoGamma can't run Galaxy 2.

    Can you help me sort this out? I don't know what else to do, I've downloaded countless files, "packs", wads, and nothing seems to make it able to run the game.

    Please bear with me. I'm not stupid or anything, yet I only have basic knowledge on this matter. (I'll follow your instructions to the letter, don't worry)
     


  2. airline38

    Member airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Upgrade/install your IOS56 to v5405
     
  3. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Install this one?

    IOS56-64-v5405.wad
     
  4. ToneEQ

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I got DVD err(1178), Disc ID

    I'm using NeoGamma R9 beta26, IOS249 (Rev 17)

    I'm sure this isn't a drive problem, because I am able to play other backups... any other suggestions?

    PS: Thanks for the quick assistance
     
  6. ToneEQ

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using DVD-R, not DVD+R? Try reburning ISO?

    Is game from a reliable source (don't mention sites)? Maybe obtain somewhere else?
     
  7. airline38

    Member airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Have you tried to use disc channel to read it directly ? same error ?

    It could be your Disc problem !!
     
  8. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    How is he supposed to run it from the Disc Channel?
     
  9. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    DVD+R
    Don't know how reliable the source is, but it was a torrent with a lot of seeds (and positive comments) from a well known site.

    It was a scrubbed version (1.3GB .rar file), do you think that might have something to do with it?

    According to the DarkCorp guide I read, in theory I could run it from the disc channel, but the answer is no. It doesn't work neither in the disc channel or in NeoGamma.
     
  10. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    What was the filename?
     
  11. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Folder name: Super.Mario.Galaxy.2.Wii.ISO
    File names: SUPER_MARIO_GALAXY_2.partXXX (it was split in 27 .rar's)
     
  12. lolorlofl

    Newcomer lolorlofl Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you change the booktype to DVD-ROM?
     
  13. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    What was the unRARed size?
     
  14. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    4,37GB
     
  15. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    gee wonder why it doesnt work then lol


    How do I set booktype
     
  16. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Thanks for the sarcasm, I really appreciate it.

    Anyone care to give me a real answer please?
     
  17. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    dude its a real fucking answer set the damn booktype to dvd-rom, how many more ppl need to tell you
    so tired of noobs who cant even listen to get their problems solved. theres no magic button to push, just set the booktype to dvd-rom, use the link i posted to google it and read the first link
     
  18. ToneEQ

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As answered above, set booktype to DVD-ROM when using DVD+R, or use DVD-R like everyone else.

    If it still doesn't work, obtain another version. I always get the original untouched ISO rather than a scrubbed version.
     
  19. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Try this

    Linking to google and saying "click that link" has no effect because everyone gets different results [​IMG]
     
  20. Rockolate
    OP

    Newcomer Rockolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Thanks tj_cool, that was a quality reply [​IMG]
     

Share This Page