Skyrim Video Lag

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Dec 18, 2011.

Dec 18, 2011

Skyrim Video Lag by Another World at 7:43 AM (2,902 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia

    IGN has reproduced and captured the PS3 Skyrim lag issue. After Playstation Magazine gave the game a Gold award (10/10), many users are in agreement that the games positives outshine the programming bugs. It seems that gamers look away as Bethesda continually releases games based on the same engine which have the same save-game bug. Bethesda is finally admitting that the problem exists and so far they have not released a successful patch. If you have experienced the PS3 lag let us know how it has affected your game.



    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Oh my, IGN's video player sucks.
     
    3 people like this.
  3. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i think the player itself sucks. it takes too much bandwidth than it should. ah the times when gbatemp player was being used often. didnt fallout also have issues (i know it perfectly cuz i deleted the game due to the frequent unstoppable crashes)
    They have gotta make a new engine anytime soon.
     
  4. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States
    more like Bug-rim
     
  5. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I've got you! you're actually Cesar :ph34r:
    cant believe it took me that long to figure it out.
     
  6. qlum

    Member qlum Posting when needed

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    The Pirate Homeworld
    Country:
    Netherlands
    at least this player doesnt take gbatemp's bandwidth.
     
  7. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States
    Costy dint i like tell you in IRC?
     
  8. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just play it on PC guys, ditch that PS3 version and go to the real system. No things like that on here + my game looks a lot better than that version.
     
    2 people like this.
  9. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because everyone has a PC that can play Skyrim.
     
    5 people like this.
  10. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    i hate when game sites do this. if this game were a "bad" game it would be slammed HARD for these bugs. but since its bethesda and its skyrim its ok. i've seen games get 9.5 out of 10 for WAY less than MAJOR bugs.

    this really annoys me.
     
  11. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    I know right.
    Skyward Sword don't deserve those perfect score either, because it has a game breaking bug too.
     
  12. hkz8000

    Member hkz8000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    been playing skyrim on ps3 for about 100 hours now. no problems apart from the occasional lag and not a single crash
     
  13. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Augh; could you copy one without the god-awful advertisement in the future? Pweeease? I'm being force-fed ads about Durex Condoms -_-
     
  14. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Not sure if game lags
    *Frys face* :huh:
    or just shitty player.
     
  15. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,388
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    And that's to be expected to happen when trying to make a huge, not to mention graphically intense game on five year old plus hardware. Sure, my PC is past the games' minimum requirements, but it sure as heck doesn't lag that much.
     
  16. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    My 5 year old laptop can run it at medium, not to mention my 4 year old desktop at ultra + higher resolution textures.....
    I'd rather not play the game than to play this broken, (semi-) ugly version, without any mods, console commands, .....
     
  17. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And... ?
    I've got a netbook, I'd rather play it on my PS3 with lag which isn't that bad than not play it at all.
     
  18. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that looks annoying. Hope they get a fix soon.
     
  19. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, my PC won't even run Minecraft. I accept that the PS3 version of Skyrim has the poorest performance but it's the only version I'm in the position to play and that beats not playing it at all.

    Besides, after getting the platinum trophy on Fallout 3 GOTY I'm used to Bethesda's clumsy ports. :P
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    My IGP runs it at Medium smoothly, and at High at a playable framerate. But I still prefer playing on my 360, it just feels...more casual.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page