Hacking Sky3DS? I have some questions.

Slushie3DS

Cold Beverage Lover
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
707
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
400
Country
United States
With the end of the month getting closer day by day, I very much would enjoy importing an N3DS and running some sweet homebrew on it. While I favor Gateway as a cart, I view Sky3DS in a much brighter light. A seemingly simplistic cart is definitely more desirable than something that you must constantly be patient with, even as the cart is only a 1x1 cart that will most likely be blocked in the future.

Of course, before I even think about purchasing this product, I have some questions for you lovely people:
- Is this cart simple to use? The simple format and drop games onto it seems a bit too good to be true.
- Do games that are out of region work? Not much of a problem if no.
- Do .3DS games that have been ripped of their region work? I see these a lot, and I am unsure if they will cause a problem.
- How does the blue button work? I understand that it allows for game switching, but I'm unsure if you have to take it out to hit the button, or how it works.
- If it can run .3DS as a 1x1 cart, can you use DEVMENU.3DS to install DEVMENU.CIA like the Gateway cart?

Thank you for any explanations.
 

mrolive

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
547
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
427
Country
Canada
With the end of the month getting closer day by day, I very much would enjoy importing an N3DS and running some sweet homebrew on it. While I favor Gateway as a cart, I view Sky3DS in a much brighter light. A seemingly simplistic cart is definitely more desirable than something that you must constantly be patient with, even as the cart is only a 1x1 cart that will most likely be blocked in the future.

Of course, before I even think about purchasing this product, I have some questions for you lovely people:
- Is this cart simple to use? The simple format and drop games onto it seems a bit too good to be true.
- Do games that are out of region work? Not much of a problem if no.
- Do .3DS games that have been ripped of their region work? I see these a lot, and I am unsure if they will cause a problem.
- How does the blue button work? I understand that it allows for game switching, but I'm unsure if you have to take it out to hit the button, or how it works.
- If it can run .3DS as a 1x1 cart, can you use DEVMENU.3DS to install DEVMENU.CIA like the Gateway cart?

Thank you for any explanations.
1) It's that simple
2) Sky3DS has region free courtesy of regionthree from smealum
3) Not sure
4) You just press the button to switch games while the cart is in the 3DS
5) No, Sky3DS can't install devmenu
 

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
1) It's that simple
2) Sky3DS has region free courtesy of regionthree from smealum
3) Not sure
4) You just press the button to switch games while the cart is in the 3DS
5) No, Sky3DS can't install devmenu
Region free doesn't work on N3DS and when it does it will only be when Gateway support is released.
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
well given the recent bannings that have been happening, sky3ds users would probably want to start patching their template file manually if they dont want to get banned from online services....while its not 100% clear exactly what is causing the bans the results are all pointing towards people using shared headers, and shared headers are what sky3ds relies on to maintain its easy to use reputation, once people need to start dumping games (which isnt possible on 9.3+) to obtain a private header, idk up to you, but i would say owning a sky3ds just got more complicated with these bannings
 

Slushie3DS

Cold Beverage Lover
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
707
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
400
Country
United States
1) It's that simple
2) Sky3DS has region free courtesy of regionthree from smealum
3) Not sure
4) You just press the button to switch games while the cart is in the 3DS
5) No, Sky3DS can't install devmenu

Why exactly can it not? Devmenu can be used a .3DS.

well given the recent bannings that have been happening, sky3ds users would probably want to start patching their template file manually if they dont want to get banned from online services....while its not 100% clear exactly what is causing the bans the results are all pointing towards people using shared headers, and shared headers are what sky3ds relies on to maintain its easy to use reputation, once people need to start dumping games (which isnt possible on 9.3+) to obtain a private header, idk up to you, but i would say owning a sky3ds just got more complicated with these bannings

I don't really care much for online play, anyway.
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
Why exactly can it not? Devmenu can be used a .3DS.
Because sky3ds can only run properly signed content, to run dev menu there would have to be a signed to run on retail consoles from a retail cart copy of devmenu....which there isnt

and for the same reason you can't run hacked roms etc as it breaks the signature

I don't really care much for online play, anyway.
fair enough, just letting you know
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slushie3DS

Slushie3DS

Cold Beverage Lover
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
707
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
400
Country
United States
Because sky3ds can only run properly signed content, to run dev menu there would have to be a signed to run on retail consoles from a retail cart copy of devmenu....which there isnt

and for the same reason you can't run hacked roms etc as it breaks the signature


fair enough, just letting you know

Good explanations, and thank you. Now, if I was to get a Cubic Ninja .3DS, and use it, would I still be able to access Ninjhax, provided I am on the correct firmware?
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
Good explanations, and thank you. Now, if I was to get a Cubic Ninja .3DS, and use it, would I still be able to access Ninjhax, provided I am on the correct firmware?
yep, cubic ninja works fine on sky3ds as long as your 3DS/2DS is between 4.x-9.2

i would say gateway is better, but each to their own, if your going to stick to 9.2 or lower you will pretty much be ruling yourself out of eshop access/title updates etc unless some free n3DS compatible emunand is made available
 

Slushie3DS

Cold Beverage Lover
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
707
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
400
Country
United States
yep, cubic ninja works fine on sky3ds as long as your 3DS/2DS is between 4.x-9.2

i would say gateway is better, but each to their own, if your going to stick to 9.2 or lower you will pretty much be ruling yourself out of eshop access/title updates etc unless some free n3DS compatible emunand is made available

I figure I will Sky3DS it for now, then get Gateway next pay day. I'd much rather use my N3DS, because I know I will love it the moment I can hold it in my hands, so compatibility is a large factor here. Back-up plans are always nice to have.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gamesquest1
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Heh my GF has dsl lol