Skinning Help

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Edgedancer, Sep 24, 2008.

Sep 24, 2008

Skinning Help by Edgedancer at 9:29 AM (890 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi everyone. I am probably going to sound like a noob but I swear I am not one. My old sd card got corrupted way back in March when I put a bad file on it and I couldn't format it or anything. So i dug out an old 1 GB card to use. It was alright for now but recently I wanted to use skins again. I couldn't be bothered before but now I need some help as they wont work.
    Below are some images of my sd card so could you please tell me what I am doing wrong.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Please help and I about to feel stupid.
     
  2. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    hrm.. looks like the right files in the correct places... pressing select doesnt cycle through them?
     
  3. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Nothing happens when I press select.
     
  4. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    backup everything(not the system folder) and then format ur microsd, after that download the latest r4ds firmware and put it in and try if it works
     
  5. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Try taking the theme.ini out of each folder of something.. They are not in mine so try that.. See if it works.. [​IMG]
     
  6. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    nope
    theme.ini contains the colour information of the theme
    e.g
    when u go over ur roms name their font color change to something else
     
  7. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Mine have all the files mentioned and usually come with one other.. albeit useless (i.e. delete it)... preview.png or preview.bmp

    the layout "looks" totally fine

    Assuming you extracted the firmware on a freshly formatted card as suggested by DarkRey and didnt just copy it i dunno, if you copied/formatted/copied... try deleting _DS_MENU.SYS then restart it (iirc this file gets recreated if it aint there... and i seem to remember having issues and needing to delete that before)
     
  8. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I might try that _DS_MENU.SYS idea. I copied everything to my comp, formatted the card and then sent it back over. Will check now.

    EDIT: Still doesn't work but it comes up with a message when I press select. It says
    Theme Select
    Automatic mode
    THEME09
     
  9. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Start from scratch as suggested... backup your games and themes... torch the rest with format

    extract from the English-1.18.rar/English/ those files to the card... then copy your themes folder back to _system_

    i believe the menu.sys file is like a compiled ini file... holds settings or something
     
  10. XionGlydius

    Newcomer XionGlydius Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I just downloaded the new v1.18 and I dont even have the theme folder, is there any way someone could upload it and I could just DL it?
     

Share This Page