Skin Editing problems

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Briankealing, Dec 15, 2008.

Dec 15, 2008

Skin Editing problems by Briankealing at 5:52 PM (737 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,

    I use Dan Taylor's skin editor because the other one doesn't seem to work.

    Whenever I change a picture, it works fine in the preview screen on the skin editor. But when I run it up on my Acekard, the picture gets screwed up.

    For example, the start bar picture. I made it completely white with a blue bar on the left. The size is all the same and everything. I saved it as a paint file as thats what all the other pictures are saved as. I replaced the old one, and the preview in the Skin editor works fine. But when I load it up to my Acekard, the picture would be white but the blue bar on the left is gone and there's a whole bunch of random pixels all over the place.

    Can someone explain what is happening, and please help me troubleshoot this problem?
     
  2. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    You need to save the images as 16bit bmp files. If i remember correctly the latest version of his skin editor converts images to that format for you
     
  3. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Oh really? I'll try that...
    It seems to take away the colors a bit though...

    Thanks!
     
  4. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    So where can I find a converter that converts 24 bit to 16 bit in a way that's better than MSPaint's? MSpaint makes everything screwed up.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Gimp is what I use.

    There is a (x1 R5 G5 B5)16bit option included in the advanced options.
     

Share This Page