Simultaneous Remotejoy and USB loader

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by crono141, Aug 7, 2012.

Aug 7, 2012
  1. crono141
    OP

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    I'm new to the PSP hacking scene (just picked up a 3000 model 8/5/12). I got the custom firmware on there and I'm exploring forums and guides trying to figure out what is possible. I'd like to try out remotejoy to play games on the big screen full screen. I also read about a PC USB loader plugin and companion PC software. Can these two plugins work at the same time?

    In other words, can I load games from PC while at the same time using the PC for display?
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you can. I seem to remember my brother doing so on his PSP a few years back. I'm not 100% sure what all software you need though. usbhostfs is involved I'm fairly sure (that's a plugin).
     
  3. crono141
    OP

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I'll try it out tonight and let you know how it goes.
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    USB Host FS : http://filetrip.net/psp-downloads/tools-utilities/download-usb-host-fs-10-f24274.html
    USB ISO Loader : http://filetrip.net/psp-downloads/homebrew/download-usb-iso-loader-07-f24275.html
    they might be a little old, I don't know if there are new versions.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    You need to use (L)ME 1.8 firmware to run the USB iso loader. It won't connect properly using PRO custom firmware.
    Here's a useful thread at Wololo about how to run PSP games stored on your PC via USB cable.

    ..not sure about running remotejoy and usb-loader at the same time though.
     
  6. crono141
    OP

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the advice. I did run into a major snag with the USB loader portion, being that it didn't work at all (due to being on pro firmware, D'OH!). Also I get no sound through remotejoy. Is sound not an included feature? Do I have to run audio separately?

    Edit: Just switched to LME (which was so easy) but I'm still having no luck with USB Loading. I start the PSP loader, plug in USB, and when it asks I start usbhostfs_pc.exe. But it never connects. I had it connected once earlier, but it didn't load the ISO (crashed on the PSP side). Had to hard reset PSP, and it hasn't connected to the PC since.
     
  7. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    audio is included, but you'll need extra equipment, (a double end male headphone jack).
     
  8. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    If you havent, try the download archive at the wololo thread i linked to above. Its got the most up-to-date version of the usbiso loader v0.8. (the one at Filetrip is an older 0.7 version, at the moment).

    Also, just to troubleshoot, Ive noticed that i need to use the exact same usb slot on my pc to get the usb loader to work. if i accidentally plug into a different usb port it wont boot up for me.
     
  9. crono141
    OP

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, with my setup running an audio cable is impossible. Is there a working version of FuSa_SD for 6.60 firmware? All the ones I've found only half work, with garbled video on most of the screen and screwed up colors.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah there's no audio over USB so you need a cable.

    Isn't FUSA just for video-out? Literal video-out, not USB.

    And I've never heard of anybody doing both ISO loading and video out over USB at the same time. Bandwidth concerns and crap.
     
  11. crono141
    OP

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, FuSa is for video out, which is fine for me because I have the cable. I'm just having technical difficulties getting it to actually display properly.
     
  12. aireca

    Member aireca GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    With just the remotejoy plugin is slow with some games even at 366mhz, for audio you can buy a external audio card, audio can be only extracted from the phones jack
     

Share This Page