Should I delete "Mothballed" IOSes?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dan_Aykroyd, Jul 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jul 9, 2009
  1. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Hey!

    Out of curiosity (and OCD): can I remove "Mothballed" IOSes (as marked in WiiBrew here)? I'm running latest FW 4.0, with BootMii as boot2 and with NAND backup made (safety net).

    I don't know if deleting them with ATD would or wouldn't free any memory blocks, but if the Wii still works 100% after deleting them all, I'd still like to do it.

    Anyway... let me know what you think. Thanks!
     


  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It wont free any blocks.

    Most of the wii will work, some older games might not.

    But what the hey, there are loads of "i'v fucked my Wii up the power port, HELP ME NOWZ!" threads to fix it when you fuck it up.
     
  3. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Shure you can delete them, and f**k up your Wii during that process. If everything works, then let it be.

    The first golden rule in WiiHacking: NEVER DELETE AN IOS!!!
    WHY THE HELL WOULD YOU DO SOME SH*T? IT WILL BRING YOU NOTHING, NO SPACE, NOTHING!!! IF IT WOULD DO SOMTHING GOOD, NINTENDO WOULD HAVE DONE THIS ALREADY DURING THE UPDATE TO 4.0!!!

    Damm, how can someone come to such an idea...Realy, let it be. And if you can't, I'll promise I won't help you if you're fu**ed up.

    (P.s: If you realy can't live with the Mothballs, look at DOP-IOS. It's a bit dangerous, but since you don't care about your Wii...)
     
  4. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Hey! Don't go crazy on me guys! What's wrong with having some kind of curiosity, investigation and trial and error?

    Don't forget I've told that I have BootMii as boot2, so I should be quite safe if I went to try it. But please, refrain from now answering "well, go ahead and try it"! I'll, but before I wanted to know if someone did in order to not waste time deleting them, restoring the back up, etc.

    Thanks
     
  5. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just search, read up and realize it can only do more harm than good.

    If not, then go for it. U can always reinstall ur NAND with bootmii.
     
  6. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    give the guy a break, he said he got bootmii as boot2 with a nand backup so come on leave him alone, he can always recover. he sounds like he is being extra careful so whats wrong with being a bit inquisitive.
     
  7. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if it was that straight forward why did he post in here? if hes got a safety net, why ask? he should have just done it and got pissed at him self for wasting his own time.

    As it is he asked, we answered.

    sounds like hes going to do it regardless of our strong, and experienced opinions.

    So this point is moot.
     
  8. sl33p

    Member sl33p GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    lol. I think the pent of rage of the boards is starting to manifest itself. There have been ALOT of "Help I've bricked my wii I'm a complete noob" threads lately. This is literally to the point of me thinking that 4chan (or Nintendo) is trolling us (or wasting our resources). It's just really strange how it's just a constant stream of "omg I drop my wii in the bathtub to hax it and now i haz brickcan it be fixed?" Was this site feature on a social media site somewhere or something?



    Here's a small sampling from just the past couple of days of idiot threads or questionsthat could have been answered if the OP bothered to do 30 mins of research:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166640
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166659
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166655
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166356
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166341
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=165637
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=165958
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166493
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166383
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166652
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=166199
     
  9. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think its just pure laziness.

    btw i lolled at first when u said 4chan, but reading up on twitter attacks im thinking twice [​IMG]
     
  10. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    ! Below remarks only intended for the thread starter ! Never delete a system menu IOS!

    Practically deletion of them won't cause a brick, but don't do that... if you look closely in below two pages, you can see that these ioses either used by old system menus (10, 11, 20, 30, 50) or are there to prevent installation of older ones (16)

    http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/System_Menu
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS_History

    if you delete them then everytime you do a official update they will possibly get installed again...

    So there is not much point in deleting them... but you should be aware of something. You should never install an older system menu wad if you have these stub ioses. And if you ever downgrade to 3.2, you should watch if you have stub IOS 50 since on that setup even doing a official disc update from an original disc with 3.4 system update will brick your wii... since you were been to 4.0 at one time...

    Best solution is to leave them as is and be at the latest system menu.
     
  11. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    OK... thanks to those who KINDLY answered me.. [​IMG]

    Why would I then ask for help about "I bricked my Wii OMG!" when I'm saying that I've BM as Boot2! Jesus!

    I too hate noobs posts about how to recover a Wii or "I deleted my IOS60 and now it won't start", but come on, I'm asking an hypothetical (?) scenario where deprecated IOSes were deleted. I know you aren't supposed to delete any IOS (as someone posted the number 1 hacking rule?), but those are IOS SUPPOSEDLY not used anymore; hence my question.

    Anyway, you shouldn't get off so hard and dismiss a question as stupid without first understanding what I was wondering / trying to achieve.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Feel free to delete them. Generally speaking, "mothballed" IOSes (more commonly called stubs) were used by either the System Menu or the Wii Shop Channel. Ever since the October 23 update, they have been turning unused IOSes into stubs.

    In short, you can delete them, but they would have no effect. When downgrading, remember to reinstall a functioning version first. (i.e.- You want to downgrade to 3.2. Be sure to install a working IOS30 first.)
     
  13. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I would recommend this also. Delete mothballed IOS's unless you have something that uses it. For example, I have System Menu 3.2 so I should not and will not delete IOS30.

    In short, make sure nothing is using the IOS first.

    But, given how small IOS's are, like ~2 MB, it may not be worth the effort.

    Just remember to be very careful. Things won't run if you delete the IOS they depend on.
     
  14. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Dude 4chan won't even load they've been getting DDoS'd for like almost a week now.

    And trust me, There are thousands of places more fun to troll than a gaming hacking forum. At least I've never seen a thread targeting this site so.....not very likely.

    Never underestimate laziness coupled with curiousity, the true culprit.

    Oh and I wouldn't be bothered deleting stub IOS files either, since you're more than likely going to redownload and reinstall the stubs next update anyway, just leave em.
     
  15. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I'll try to delete them now. According to WiiBrew, these are the deprecated IOSes:

    IOS3
    IOS4
    IOS10
    IOS11
    IOS16
    IOS20
    IOS30
    IOS40
    IOS50
    IOS51
    IOS254

    My only concern would be then to know if is there any game (old) that loads these to use? I could reinstall them later, but would be good to know anyway.
     
  16. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    No game uses them. (Well, the Wii Backup Disc uses IOS16 v257... which is included on the ISO.) If a game did use one of those IOSes, Nintendo would not turn it into a stub, since the game dependent on the IOS would then cease to work.
     
  17. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Great answer Dialexio! Thanks for helping out!

    I'm deleting them at the moment; everything should be ok!

    EDIT: Well, I've deleted them and everything seems to be going OK.

    Nice side effects (besides satisfying my OCD and have a "perfect" Wii! [​IMG]):

    - 1 memory block freed! [​IMG]
    - Now there're less IOS in the second tab of ATD! [​IMG]

    And as an observation, while I was backuping each and every one of them with WADCreator, I noticed them all are 0.16 MB in size. So, they "REALLY" are stubs [​IMG]

    Thanks for your comments.
     
  18. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    This is true.

    And for those of you arguing that you'll just have the stubs back in the next update, you can simply get the wads with NUSD and update with wad manager. If it still bugs you about updating, more like getting the stubs installed, then just shut it up with preloader combined with an appropriate no update hack.

    You don't HAVE to tolerate stubs. There are ways around it.
     
  19. Dan_Aykroyd
    OP

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, or even easier: update and delete these stubs again! Is not like updates come out every week, plus deleting them with ATD is a breeze!
     
  20. sl33p

    Member sl33p GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    I was being more facetious than anything really.

    To the OP: I'm glad you're OCD has been sated. And I didn't necessarily mean your post was dumb in itself. Just that the board's patience is getting rather short and tempers are starting to flare a bit. Sorry if I wasn't totally clear.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page