shell32.dll has messed up my pc

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AlanJohn, Jul 1, 2012.

Jul 1, 2012
  1. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I was installing an icon pak on my PC. I didnt like it, so I uninstalled it and now I cant login into my computer because logonUi.exe wont work without shell32.dll.

    I am running windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.
     
  2. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the shellpack proberly made a backup of the file, boot pc with a live cd, then locate the backup, restore the backup.

    voila, in theory :P
     
  3. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I do not have the disk that I used to install windows.
     
  4. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    You can pull a copy of shell32.dll from wherever you store your system backups.
    My backup on my external hard drive has saved me a number of times.

    You can also use an Ubuntu (Linux) boot disk to get access to your hard drive to replace that file.
     
  6. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ok, I've found a disk called Win 7 Ultimate. It is in my disk drive, I am currently on Advanced Boot Options, what do I do now?
     
  7. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    do u have a backup of shell32.dll? try restoring your system to an earlier point of time.
     
  8. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I have no restore points on my pc.
    Also, its possible that the iconpak installer made a backup of shell32.dll but as I said, I do not have any access of ny files since I cannot login into my pc.
     
  9. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    yea i understand :) if you have a back up try using one of the recovery options were it asks you to load drivers manually. sorry i forgot which one ask you to do it :(. and when you click to load drivers manually it will ask you to browse for it, now you just simply go to the were shell32.dll is located and delete the current one and rename the which was backed up to the original and thats it after you have done it all just cancel the load drivers option and reboot your pc it should work.

    this solution has been tried by me multiple times because i had the same fucking problem before.

    Hope i helped and sorry i do not remember the recovery option where it asks you to load drivers manually :(
     
  10. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you cant just boot in windows 7 with that man...

    i told ya, get a live cd, with that you can access the file system without needing to be in windows.

    the above suggestion works too btw, not a bad solution, never thought of that xd
     
  11. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Well I was thinking of doing that, but I am facing a huge problem here... There is only 13 mb of space left on C, and everytime I delete a file, it goes to the recycle bin.
    Help?
     
  12. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ok, so I did what Aloude said and emptied the recycle bin with a command line.
    But now, when I start windows the login interface doesnt show up, niether does the background. But the buttons on the edges of the screen do appear. Ive tried to open the utilities and I got this error:
    http://db.tt/SWpXiF7t

    Anyways, there are more backups/versions of the file so I'll play around with them.
     
  13. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    FUCK YEAH! Its fixed.

    The solution: I used Alaudes method to get access of files, and used the backups of not only shell32.dll, but also a bunch of other backups created for other .dll's.

    Thanks a lot guys!

    Wait no, programs are still not working and showing errors of shell32.dll. Hmm, is there a legit download of shell32.dll?

    Also, my theme is the ugly classic one now, and I can use the personalize feature and it gives this error:
    Explorer.EXE

    The specific module could not be found.

    What do?
     
  14. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not too sure, but this is a website I personally use most of the time.

    http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?shell32



    EDIT:

    I've have had a similar problem before.
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/284861-the-ordinal-681-could-not-be-located-help
     
  15. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Put your Windows 7 disk in your computer
    Get to the System Recovery Menu
    Click Command Prompt
    Type sfc /scannow
    When it is done take out the disk and restart the computer
     
  16. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    hope i was of little help :) for now fixing your current problem is to follow (as Seyiji suggested above) it is the safest and easiest way to fix your problem.
     
  17. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Welp, I haven't done what Seyiji said but I've been able to fix most of everything.

    Solution: I found a folder in Windows called "SysWOW64". I opened it, and I found a file called shell32.dll.bak but there was no shell32.dll, so I removed the "bak" and restarted my pc. And it worked!

    But, all of my icons are kind-of messed up due to the fact that I haven't uninstalled the iconpak. Apparently, the uninstaller doesn't actually deletes the new files and uses the backups, but just deletes the files without caring about the backups.

    I will now try what Seyiji said, maybe it will fix my icons :unsure:
     
  18. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Thanks a lot!
    It works! EVERYTHING WORKS!

    But, the themes I've installed have been deleted, so thats quite sad, but oh well.
     

Share This Page