1. LukeHasAWii

    OP LukeHasAWii GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a low end PC? What are the specs? What games did you get to run on it?

    I'll start:
    I've got a PC rocking 4GB of ram, 512mb vram, 720p display, and an AMD A9 processor. I was kind of able to run fortnite, able to run Minecraft easily, and able to run Sonic Generations at 720p60fps.

    I've also got a PC with an Intel Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 512mb of ram, 80gb hdd, Intel EXTREME GRAPHICS 2, (integrated), and windows xp.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
    damiano2712 and BORTZ like this.
  2. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    i7 7700k
    16 GB ram
    asus rog OC 1080ti 11GB vram
    1440x900 display ;O;
    NVME samsung960 evo (pci express)


    sad specs cuz:
    intel meltdown\MUI bugs etc stuff (bought this stuff last year, and then this shit happened)
    over paid for the ram.
    only 1 gpu, doesn't mine a lot of criptocurrencies (however it runs games very weill but you can have the most powerfull gpu but that won't fix shitty coded\ported games)
    old ass display that i am waiting for it to stop working to get an excuse to get a new one, until then this one is working and i am good with it
    the samsung nvme was updated with the lastest buggy firmware that samsung removed from the website shortly and didn't fix\provided a downgrade (damn auto update)
    and the sadest spec of them all: windows 10*


    *windows 10 actually works wonderfully for me, have no issues, but it's a bad OS based on everyone's opinion
     
  3. pustal

    pustal Koalafied member.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Country:
    Portugal
    i7 7700k, 1080Ti, 16GB (2X8) DDR4 @ 3000MHz, 525 GB m.2 using 16GB octane memory and 2TB HDD.

    Running @ 4K 60Hz screen
     
    Nyteshade714 likes this.
  4. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    An old Mac:
    4GB ram
    Some old Intel processor (probably i3 or i5)
    No idea about GPU, not sure if it even has a separate CPU.
    I couldn't really figure out the system specs. Either way it's slow as hell. It also has a 500-GB hard disk, so yeah, not much space (new PC has 4TB + 1 million terabytes cloud storage), and Minecraft is hardly playable without OptiFine, if I use a big kid (like Aether II) I also have to use fastCraft. I'm gonna wipe the hard disk and install Solus on it soon.
     
  5. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    does the optane actually do something? from what i read it would only speed up the first HDD connected (the boot drive)
     
  6. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    Umm, it said 'sad PC specs,' that's better than my new PC which is really good.
     
    LukeHasAWii likes this.
  7. Ominous66521

    Ominous66521 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,793
    Country:
    United States
    I5 6600k,gtx 1060,16gb of ddr4

    My builds most likely considered mid range compared to low end,but close enough.
     
  8. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,972
    Country:
    United States
    Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.6GHz, GTX 960, 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz, 500GB SSD + 1TB HDD + 1TB HDD
     
    John256145 likes this.
  9. SonicMC

    SonicMC GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    amd phenom ii x3, 8gb ram, hd 5770, 2x4 gb ddr3. 2 256gb sata 3 ssd "mobo only supports sata 2 :( "
     
    Aether Lion likes this.
  10. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know that Serial ATA has different versions.
     
  11. andzalot55

    andzalot55 I'm very delicious. mmmm.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    796
    Country:
    Canada
    i3-6100
    GTX 970
    2x 4GB DDR4 2800MHz

    Please don't ask why an i3-6100; long story short, was on a budget and my friend sold me his 970 for less than 200$ cad.

    Sad specs. because I have an i3-6100 paired with a GTX 970.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  12. BORTZ

    BORTZ The Amazing
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,816
    Country:
    United States
    Unspecified Intel processor, probably a Celeron or something cheap to die. 1366x768 resolution
    4 GB RAM
    16 GB onboard flash storage
    Chrome OS
    Multi touch pad
    9 volt power cable
     
    Aether Lion likes this.
  13. pustal

    pustal Koalafied member.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Country:
    Portugal
    I bought it second hand thinking I could speed up my HDD, but yeah, only the Windows boot drive and only works with Windows it seems. It does speed it a bit, more noticeably the OS boot (I believe it stores windows boot files. It's enough with an SSD to be useful but wouldn't recommend the investment. I hope they change the drives to support other disks eventually.

    I'm sorry, I misread. If it make you feel better my older rig has a core 2 duo, no SSD, 3GB DDR2 and a 560 ti
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
    migles likes this.
  14. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,433
    Country:
    United States
    this is for low spec pc people, not your high end gaming desktops

    anyway my toshiba laptop that I bought 9 years ago and still using today, its felling a bit sluggish after all these years, so im gonna install an ssd in it
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834114717

    and slimline desktop now being used as a htpc, put in a radeon 5450 for hdmi out, a tv tuner (happauge 2250)
    https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-inspiron-531s-dts-athlon-x2-5000-plus-2-6-ghz-3-gb-320-gb/specs/
     
    Aether Lion and slaphappygamer like this.
  15. LukeHasAWii

    OP LukeHasAWii GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, that is sad lol
    Have you read up on installing Linux on it?
     
    snails1221 likes this.
  16. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,710
    Country:
    United States
    Well let's see...

    There's my 2007 Macbook:
    C2D T7200
    2GB of DDR2
    Intel GMA 950
    500GB HDD

    Then my 2009 Macbook:
    C2D P7450
    6GB of DDR2
    Nvidia GT 9400m
    500GB HDD

    My Toshiba Satellite 1625CDT:
    AMD K6-2 running at 475MHz
    192MB of RAM
    ATI Rage LT Pro
    8GB SD card (using an IDE to SD Card adapter)

    My Toshiba Satellite T1910CS:
    Intel 486SX running at 33mhz
    4MB of RAM
    2GB SD card (using an IDE to SD Card adapter)

    A "Sunrace HyperBook 2200SX":
    An Intel 386SL running at 20mhz
    2MB of RAM
    and an 200MB HDD

    And I've got a laptop with a Pentium II coming at some point this week as well, not sure the full specs yet but it'll have 32MB of RAM and I'll probably pull the 2GB SD card from the T1910CS and put it in this.
     
    Psionic Roshambo likes this.
  17. RyanAnayaMc

    RyanAnayaMc The ACE
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    I had a laptop that had a pathetic 1.6GHz single-core Intel processor, 1 whole GB of DDR2 RAM, a 256GB HDD, and Windows Vista included. I couldn't even get Ubuntu to run on it - I had to run Lubuntu, which still wasn't the most responsive. Gaming? Out of the question.

    I had another laptop with a more formidable 1.9GHz Dual-Core processor with a 500GB Seagate Momentus Thin, 4GB of DDR3 which I upgraded to 8GB, and 32MB dedicated graphics. I somehow ran a lot of games at it. CoD WaW, Unturned, CSGO, Killing Floor 2 (for a while), Bioshock Infinite, and some other games ran at various sub-HD resolutions at least 30FPS. At that time, that was acceptable for me. It also ran Windows 10.
    EDIT: This laptop also won't boot anymore. I think it overheated too much and something got damaged, because my FPS dropped whenever the exhaust got too hot so I remedied it by putting an ice pack under it. Bad idea.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  18. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    3 versions,
    IIRC the 2nd version only supports up to 300MB\s (theory) or something like that, the sata 2 is known as sata 300, while sata 3 is known as sata 600

    you peasants still using sata ;O; pcie for life

    if he is interested he probably can get a pcie card to use sata drives with the full speed. i am not sure if he will be able to boot from them easily tough...
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  19. HaloEliteLegend

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,722
    Country:
    United States
    > OP asks for low specs
    > mostly pretty highly-spec'd systems
    kek

    My turn.

    i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz
    GTX 980 Ti @ 1400mhz
    16GB DDR3-1866mhz
    500GB SSD, 3TB 7200rpm HDD, 1TB 7200rpm HDD

    Not the latest stuff, but it runs everything I need it to run like a charm, so I have no need for upgrades atm. Except maybe another hard drive. Between an enormous game library and lossless After Effects renders, I only have about 1TB left across my three internal drives, and that's after some spring cleaning.
     
    Nyteshade714 and LukeHasAWii like this.
  20. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,863
    Country:
    United States
    anything that is not Dual Core, its a SAD PC Specs.

    even with some dual core or P4 HT, you could play some good games. people really need to understand the meaning of a SAD pc spec.
     
    Axido likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Share, specs,