Serious problem with .nds files

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Dhaos_Niko, Dec 25, 2009.

Dec 25, 2009
  1. Dhaos_Niko
    OP

    Newcomer Dhaos_Niko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok. I bought a R4i SDHC, but both with this and my old DSTT (i somehow managed to resurrect it), i have a serious problem.

    I put the games in the "Roms" Folder, named [gamename].nds. But the Flashcard doesn't see them. Neither the R4i SDHC with R4i English 1.13b (relased this december) or with the last 1.17a2 of the DSTT. On the DSTT i also tried with the older 1.17, but nothing.

    Any help?
     


  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try downloading a .nds file straight from the internet, don't modify it's name and just put it on and see what happens. I haven't had this issue before, and i've got 2 r4i-sdhc's.
     
  3. Mana94

    Member Mana94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    Strange. I have never encountered this so I have no idea [​IMG]
     
  4. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Are they still in the zip or rar file?
     
  5. Mana94

    Member Mana94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    OH! Good call. Most roms DO come in rar,zip, or 7z files.
     
  6. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    lmao uber fail! wouldn't you have noticed before that the file wasn't in .nds format? XD
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He might have "Hide extensions for known file types" selected.
     
  8. Mana94

    Member Mana94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    Who? me? if you did mean me... then do notice I am not the creator of this topic so it isn't my problem
    [​IMG] I was just noticing how that could be a likely reason for roms not to be seen. I hadn't though about that as a possibility.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    That's on by default on XP, Vista and 7.
     
  10. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see how that could be an uber fail. It was a legitimate question. As most Windows OS's come with known file extensions hidden he might not have noticed the file extensions, and furthermore I know not is level of computer literacy so me may have renamed them from .zip, .rar, or .7z to .nds without knowing to extract them. I was mentioning the obvious as the solution may be hidden there, as many puzzles that stump you so you check a walk-through only to be dumbfounded by the simplest of solutions.

    EDIT: Not to mention out of ten replies (including this one) it was one of two to offer a solution.
     
  11. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    However, that wouldn't stop them from appearing.
     
  12. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you misunderstood me.

    I heard Vista or Windows 7 include compression support (I haven't used either OS) and some forms of XP come bundled with WinRar, WinZip, or other similar program, that associate with these types of files therefore making them known file extensions. The computer would hide the extension, and the file would appear as "." He/she might have renamed it ".nds," not knowing to double click the file to open and extract it.

    Or if the "hide extensions for known file types" is unchecked, the file would appear as ".zip," and they still renamed it ".nds" not knowing what a .zip file was.

    I figure to properly solve a problem all avenues should be explored until a solution is found.
     
  13. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    No, I believe you misunderstood me. [​IMG]

    If you look all the way back to his original post you'll see the NDS files do not even appear on his flashcarts. Any file that has the NDS extension should show up whether it's a commercial game, homebrew or even a compressed file renamed with the extension .nds. That is what I was referring to.
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong.

    Default R4 firmware, it's direct clones and YSMenu (I don't know about DSTT) all have a filter.
    They show Games -> Saves (and backup) -> All Files.
    Unless the filter was set to show 'All Files', an archive wouldn't show.
     
  15. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    This thread is full of win. [​IMG]
     
  16. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I also believe that it is set to "games" by default on most cards.

    However, I may be wrong. I'll admit that. It's all speculation until the OP posts again. I was just saying if the circumstances are right, it might be a possibility. If you have a better "solution," please post it. All this arguing over one suggestion, be it right or wrong, isn't helping him/her get their card working.
     
  17. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, the only thing I can think of is that he has the ROM files set to hidden but with his OS able to see them. But that's pretty unlikely.
     
  18. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    If the file extension was hidden and he renamed it ".nds" the file is really named ".nds.zip." I tested this on my R4 with three firmwares (my clones "official," DSTT 1.17a12, and YSMenu + DSTT 1.17a12). Only the "official" firmware showed the file of all three.
     
  19. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    No, I'm not talking about the hidden file extensions. I'm talking about this:
    [​IMG]
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    That's hidden FILES and FOLDERS. It has NOTHING to do with extensions.
    And because it has NOTHING to do with extensions, it would have NOTHING to do with NDS FILES or ZIP FILES because they are FILE EXTENSIONS.

    See the checkbox BELOW your circle?
    THAT is for extensions (.ZIP, .NDS, .BAT, .EXE, etc)
    THAT is CHECKED by default in XP, Vista, and 7. Possibly also default in Windows Server editions.
     

Share This Page