Semi-bricked Wii + other problems

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wtf dinosaurs, Dec 24, 2011.

Dec 24, 2011
  1. wtf dinosaurs
    OP

    Newcomer wtf dinosaurs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello everyone, I've got a modded Wii here that I've been having trouble with. The modding process went smoothly up until the installation of Priiloader, at which point I no longer had a functional home menu, and therefore no access to its features (system options, data management, you name it). I'm looking to re-hack the Wii, and hopefully in doing so, get a functional 4.2 home menu. I've looked around at the guides here, but I think the home menu is required in each of these... so I'm not really sure what to do. I only have one Wii, and replacing it is not an option, so I would like to take the safest approach to tackling this problem.

    Additionally, and this is one of the biggest reasons I'm finally going to try and fix this thing, is I got Skyward Sword and a Wii Motion Plus controller for Christmas... and I can't seem to get it to work. SS boots up fine and dandy through USBloader's disc drive menu (which is the sole reason I have put up with a half-junked Wii for over two years), but the actual controller is giving me a hard time. It refuses to connect to the Wii, even with pressing the sync button in the battery compartment. Is this the fault of having an old (3.6 or so) system, or is it the fault of a botched home menu, or is it a faulty controller? Every other controller works fine on the same Wii, if that is any help.

    Please respond.

    Thanks everyone, any help would be lovely.
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi, just use modmii to rehack your wii and update everything.
     
  3. wtf dinosaurs
    OP

    Newcomer wtf dinosaurs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, thanks for replying.

    You're certain ModMii is the best way to go about this? It will accomodate for the shortcomings of my Wii? I apologize if I seem more concerned than I should be, but I really, really don't want to mess anything up here.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, modmii will just overwrite all old things and reinstall everything correctly. It's the best way for sure.
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Use ModMii. Depending on how borked your SM is your only option might be to use smashstack. IDK, I didn't read every detail you wrote.
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'm waiting for them to make a movie about it, lol.
     
  7. wtf dinosaurs
    OP

    Newcomer wtf dinosaurs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hi again. I've tried ModMii, and while it seems very useful, I'm not sure it will solve my problem. Its generated tutorial file is giving me very limited options. My HBC version is 1.0.6, but the tools it downloaded for me are saying they require 1.0.7 or higher. Looking at the "reinstalling HBC" portion of the guide, it tells me to use HackMii installer via the HBC, which may not even work, and if it doesn't, recommends redoing the first step of installing it on the home menu, which is not an option for someone without a home menu. Is there an alternate way to reinstall/update my HBC? Is it even safe to overwrite the current HBC if I don't have anything but the priiloader menu to fall back on?

    I apologize if my message length leads you to believe I am writing a movie script, but fear not, for I have adjusted it slightly for the betterment of your forum experience:

    brick wii. need help. what do?

    I hope this is more suitable information for you to work off of.

    Thanks.


    Edit:

    I have successfully completed all the steps as instructed in ModMii. No dice. I'm still without a home menu, and am only able to utilize the Priiloader and HBC menus. Thusly, I cannot configure my internet settings or anything of that sort. I really don't know what I can do at this point, besides attempting an allegedly extremely high risk "revirginizing". Any other suggestions?
     
  8. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you can access HBC and MMM(or similar wad manager) I see no reason why you wouldnt be able to reinstall the SM :s

    Silly question maybe, but easily overlooked. Have you checked so priiloader isnt set to to autoboot and return to HBC?
     
  9. wtf dinosaurs
    OP

    Newcomer wtf dinosaurs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I can indeed access both of those just fine. Does ModMii actually acquire the necessary files to do that when the starting SM is the destination SM? I actually just had an idea that might just work... what if I told ModMii to try upgrade to 4.3? That way it would definitely need to get some new files to install, rather than expecting the pre-existing ones to be doing their job properly. I don't know how dangerous that might be, but seeing as ModMii seems to try discourage accidental bricking, I doubt it would even have the option if it was certain death.

    And no, nothing silly like that. Every way of trying to get to the system menu just ends up on Priiloader. I think that now that I have an updated Priiloader it displays an error message upon trying to access it, which I'll check and get back to you with when possible.

    Thanks.

    Edit:

    The exact error message is:

    "Error autobooting systemmenu!
    Could not get boot stats!"

    In addition to this, there are plenty of code 0x2 warnings up at the top after the system has been on for about a minute. I hope this is useful.
     
  10. wtf dinosaurs
    OP

    Newcomer wtf dinosaurs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I went ahead and did the system upgrade via ModMii. It worked, and I have a system menu again. This is a big step up from my Wii's previous state, and I thank all those who recommended ModMii. It is a wonderful program.

    Now then, I still have one problem left to overcome, and that is getting my white Wii remote with built-in Wii Motion Plus to work. Every method of synchronization I have attempted results in the controller just blinking dumbly for a few seconds before turning back off and doing nothing. The product ID in the battery compartment is LMA-RVL-WR/M-C0, if that is of any assistance.

    Thanks.
     
  11. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You tried this?
    http://www.ehow.com/how_2054304_synchronize-new-wiimote.html
    If it doesn't work you could delete the wiimote sync list in the wii, do this with turning the wii on and hold the SYNC button on the wii for 15 seconds, and then re-sync all wiimotes, helped me once with the same problem.
     
  12. Luigi2012SM64DS
    This message by Luigi2012SM64DS has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 9, 2016.
    Dec 27, 2011

Share This Page