Hacking SD vs. SDHC

Saturngamer1

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
103
Country
Canada
For vWii is SDHC a no go? I'm having a hard time finding a regular sd card in local stores, I'd rather not touch the one in my wii, and all of the other ones I have kicking around I'm not too confident in their health. If they're out for the exploit I guess I will risk it, but once homebrew is installed can everything be moved to an hc? I haven't been able to find a run down on the specifics other than issues with usb cfg running games off of it, which won't be a prob
 

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
663
Country
United States
For vWii is SDHC a no go? I'm having a hard time finding a regular sd card in local stores, I'd rather not touch the one in my wii, and all of the other ones I have kicking around I'm not too confident in their health. If they're out for the exploit I guess I will risk it, but once homebrew is installed can everything be moved to an hc? I haven't been able to find a run down on the specifics other than issues with usb cfg running games off of it, which won't be a prob


If you are on windows, get winimage and make a complete identical copy of your sd card that you use in your wii.(Then,make a second copy and compare it to the first [if you are super paranoid]. You can check the files with md5 or sha1 or just a simple "fc /b filename1 filename2" in a Command Prompt).

Then format your sd card and setup up as a new install for the Wii U.(If it works, write down what you did so you can repeat the process later).
Once the Wii U is setup you can just copy the backed up wii sd card image straight to the sd card (via winimage) and all should be back to normal for your wii.



If you are on linux, just use "dd" for your sd card.
 

Saturngamer1

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
103
Country
Canada
I'm not super worried about a backup, I just don't want some old card to crap out on me on the middle of the install and brick it. I've really only ever had 1 sd card(non-micro) die on me but they're all old and other than the one in my wii and gc memcard, they haven't been stored in ideal conditions. I'm just going to use the one in my wii, back it up, wipe it, and if it craps out during the install at least my wii will still work.
 

ned

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
591
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
201
Country
You need a normal sd card to install the homebrew channel

Once homebrew channel is installed you can switch to sdhc


Wrong, you can use sdhc fine to install the hc just make sure it only has one fat32 partition that's sized below 2GB,
I installed my hc using a 8GB sdhc using this method then resized the partition back to 8GB afterwards.
 

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
663
Country
United States
Wrong, you can use sdhc fine to install the hc just make sure it only has one fat32 partition that's sized below 2GB,
I installed my hc using a 8GB sdhc using this method then resized the partition back to 8GB afterwards.

Which disc/title did you use to install it with an sdhc?
 

natiels

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 20, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
100
Country
United States
Saturngamer1, did you actually get this to work following ned's advice? I had a really hard time tracking down a sd card to use for homebrewing my vwii. If this works it might come in handy, but if it works I am surprised none of the tutorials mention it.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,218
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,751
Country
Norway
For vWii is SDHC a no go? I'm having a hard time finding a regular sd card in local stores, I'd rather not touch the one in my wii, and all of the other ones I have kicking around I'm not too confident in their health. If they're out for the exploit I guess I will risk it, but once homebrew is installed can everything be moved to an hc? I haven't been able to find a run down on the specifics other than issues with usb cfg running games off of it, which won't be a prob
You can run homebrew off a USB HDD if it is FAT32 formatted, so you only need a SD card for installing HBC :)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has a new girlfriend but I have known her for like 28 years
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Is she you?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psi just become a sparkling vampire already
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The Catboy it's weird there was always something between us.... But neither of us was single at the same time.... But last night we found out we both are... And hmmm 🥰
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
    +1
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.