SD seems to be stalling, also text reading problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by knl, Oct 10, 2009.

Oct 10, 2009
  1. knl
    OP

    Member knl I can change this?

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    I use a 4GB Kingston SD with my Acekard, I used to format it every once in a while with panasonic SD formatter, recently it has been acting a little weird with lag during games such as Ouendan (2)... dunno if it's formatting or the SD itself is dying out on me. It's an 8 month old or so SD.

    also, I have some e-books on my DS I usually read, but since I updated to AKAIO 1.5 I haven't tried to read them. I tried yesterday, and found out that they did away with the internal text reader; the normal text reader has to "parse" the texts, which I'm not sure how long is supposed to take, but takes so long I have no chance of reading my e-books. Did they really remove the internal text reader, and I'm forced to use the plugin text reader/a homebrew program to read stuff now?
     
  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try reformatting it, and put a new copy of AKAIO 1.5 on it. for the text reader, just tried mine out. It works like a charm. It's loading a couple of seconds and it's there. I can't really help you out with that. good luck
     
  3. knl
    OP

    Member knl I can change this?

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    just wondering, how large a text file did you try loading? the e-books I have are 400kb+, so I can sort of see what's the deal there.
     
  4. italianmod

    Newcomer italianmod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    akaio 1.4 had 2 text readers, one that was built into akaio and the other that was a plugin

    if you read the akaio wiki you'll see (as it has been stated many times in the forum) that plugins have been removed from akaio 1.5, this means that the text reader you are using in 1.5 is the built in one, not the plugin (which in my opinion is better)

    you can download a version of the plugin that works on its own, go search the download section of this site, i believe its called text viewer

    EDIT: I looked up the link, I am pretty sure it is this one. Obviously you have to scroll through your folders to get to your .txt file, but it reads it just like the akaio 1.4 plugin.
     
  5. Leamonde.Halcyon

    Member Leamonde.Halcyon 6x9=42

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    6x9=42
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately the stand-alone version of the AKAIO 1.4 text reader is extremely glitchy...I ended up switching to DsLibris. That was fun I had to convert my library of over 400 ebooks to .xhtml format and I can't keep as many of them on my DS as before because DsLibris can't process over a certain amount without erroring on me. Oh well. Other than that I do recommend it as an ebook reader for DS. Definitely a good replacement option for the AKAIO 1.4 plugin.
     
  6. italianmod

    Newcomer italianmod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    i just remembered, you could also use moonshell as a .txt reader, it is very good and looks nice, i've been using it and i'm extremely happy with it
     
  7. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    they were guides or a little book, i think not more then 50kb. I can try downloading an ebook and see what happens when i've got some time. Otherwise you can always use homebrew like moonshell. I used that a couple of times, works great
     
  8. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    I have a problem with this. It might a be completely different issue, though, because most of my files open just fine, and only a 3+ MB one doesn't.
     

Share This Page