Scanlines on progressive mode...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Yuan, Nov 14, 2011.

Nov 14, 2011

Scanlines on progressive mode... by Yuan at 3:02 PM (1,129 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Yuan
    OP

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    While playing Zelda Skyward I'm getting noticeable scanlines on some points. It is like the game only outputs 240 lines of image interleaved, even on progressive mode... Is it normal?

    It happens on Zelda Twilight Princess too and a little on Prince of Persia: forgotten sands. It really destroy the image sometimes...
     
  2. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure your Wii is set to 480p? I know there's a glitch with the resolution being set it 480p but actually outputting 480i when switching around cables at times. Try changing it to 480i and then back to 480p.
     
  3. Yuan
    OP

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, it is. Scanlines are only noticeable on some environments, like when link is riding the bird on sky.
     
  4. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Strange. I've been playing the game for a few days now and have never seen any scanlines. Neither in TP.
     
  5. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    I have no scanlines with either compos(h)it or component. I got NTSC version of both TP and SS.
     
  6. Spidey_BR

    Member Spidey_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm using the simple composite cable and I can see the interlaced image artefacts. It's not scanlines as seen on emulators, it's more like the interlaced images, like odd lines are shifted some pixels from even lines.
     
  7. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea, I have this too actually.

    With both compesite and component. (SD and HDTV)

    The sky's in TP have these lines.
    And in SS the wiiremote on screen has it and all other short of stuff.
     
  8. Yuan
    OP

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Exactly. Maybe they rendered the sky with 240 lines? Most parts on ground don't show this issue here, just the sky and some cinematics.
     

Share This Page