Save Data File Format Error

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by sstomouth, Sep 22, 2010.

Sep 22, 2010

Save Data File Format Error by sstomouth at 11:50 AM (2,603 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. sstomouth
    OP

    Banned sstomouth Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed the new Sakura, formatted my card, and now every game I go the play has the "Save Data File Format Error"!

    Someone help me, I'm so confused.

    I'm about to cry, I think I killed my card.
     
  2. Yohko86

    Newcomer Yohko86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Lyndbaum
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm...it seems to me that your game save (or saves) is corrupted, if hot the Rom itself. I don't think the problem's your card.

    That happened to me with one of my games once before. What I had to do was delete the ROM itself, then delete all the files associated with the ROM (.sav, .is0/1/2, .opt, .bkm), then download a new, clean ROM, then change the ROM's number (in my case, it was from 0731 to 0732). When I loaded the game, it created new, clean save files and loaded fine as it did before.

    Of course, this will result in lost save data.
     
  3. loony747

    Member loony747 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I'm suffering the same problem, but it happens only when I place a new game in my M3Real. The older games work fine (as in the ones I had prior to updating).

    Either way, I tried switching ROMs, using clean, hacked, and trimmed, and it always gives me this error. I also tried deleting the "corrupted" files accompanying the game, and nothing.

    Any tips would be welcome.
     
  4. sstomouth
    OP

    Banned sstomouth Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I think I figured out the problem.

    GET RID OF SAKURA

    I did this and replaced it with the new Touchpod.

    It now works, except that the firmware itself it really slow.

    I can put up with it, since games don't lag.

    Make sure you put a system file on that ONLY has Touchpod, and your problem will be solved.
     
  5. loony747

    Member loony747 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the help, but it didn't work. It still gave me the same error. I'll try reformatting my SD card, and see what good it does.

    EDIT: Alright, so I got it to work, somewhat. It seems the problem is in creating new SAV files. So what I did was that I formatted my card, set-up so that only Touchpod would work, and started the games I wanted in (KHDS, and PokeBlack). The files were created. I went ahead and reinstalled Sakura, and the games started up fine.

    Alternitavely, you could use an emu to create a SAV patch alongside your game, and transfer it onto the card afterwards. I haven't tried this (at school,no DS Emu handy), but it seems like it would work if the SAV file is the only issue here.
     
  6. Yohko86

    Newcomer Yohko86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Lyndbaum
    Country:
    United States
    Hm. I use Sakura all the time and I never had any real big problems with it (except for the time one of my games got corrupted). Maybe it's just an M3 Real issue?
     

Share This Page