Hardware *.sav to *gba.sav

Chisai

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
41
Country
Poland
I want use my saves from vba (*.sav) on my nds (where I need *gba.sav) and vice versa - is there any converter? I've not found anyone :(
 

Coto

-
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
2,934
Trophies
2
XP
2,401
Country
Chile
There are ways of doing that. The only one I got working years ago, was a method of commandline copying itself a save to double its filesize. ie 128KB eeprom VBA save into a 256KB raw eeprom.

found it!

Code:
copy /b savefile1.sav+savefile1.sav newsavefile.sav

Then you put newsavefile.sav on the flashcard, run game, let it detect savefile, then save again.
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,713
Country
Italy
There are ways of doing that. The only one I got working years ago, was a method of commandline copying itself a save to double its filesize. ie 128KB eeprom VBA save into a 256KB raw eeprom.

found it!

Code:
copy /b savefile1.sav+savefile1.sav newsavefile.sav

Then you put newsavefile.sav on the flashcard, run game, let it detect savefile, then save again.
Usually, the card's firmware should just read the save data itself. That means that the flashcard would just skip over the duplicate data, ergo, just renaming it should suffice :unsure:

My SuperCard miniSD reads my VBA saves fine, and my GBA flashcards (EFA and EZ-IV) do that as well.
 

Chisai

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
41
Country
Poland
Renaming doesn't work - when I've renamed my Pkmn Emerald save, there was info about error after loading screen.

I have r4 with 3in1. I've used gba exp, but I can also run roms directly from flashcard and it's easier and faster, but I need *gba.sav :/
 

Coto

-
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
2,934
Trophies
2
XP
2,401
Country
Chile
There are ways of doing that. The only one I got working years ago, was a method of commandline copying itself a save to double its filesize. ie 128KB eeprom VBA save into a 256KB raw eeprom.

found it!

Code:
copy /b savefile1.sav+savefile1.sav newsavefile.sav

Then you put newsavefile.sav on the flashcard, run game, let it detect savefile, then save again.
Usually, the card's firmware should just read the save data itself. That means that the flashcard would just skip over the duplicate data, ergo, just renaming it should suffice :unsure:

My SuperCard miniSD reads my VBA saves fine, and my GBA flashcards (EFA and EZ-IV) do that as well.

Uhh that is, sometimes. Sometimes saves are hardcoded along a specific ROM (by flashcart maker), so clients handle them. Some emulators use just the bits required by the actual savefile, but flashcarts reads save data as "is". Most of save data "as is" it's just doubled the original savefile size (untrimmed)


Renaming doesn't work - when I've renamed my Pkmn Emerald save, there was info about error after loading screen.

I have r4 with 3in1. I've used gba exp, but I can also run roms directly from flashcard and it's easier and faster, but I need *gba.sav :/

ehh, I don't remember 3in1 using gba.sav filenames. But just .sav. Also, why don't you use the latest GBAExploader tool by rudolph? It worked flawlessly with nearly every GBA game I threw
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has a new girlfriend but I have known her for like 28 years
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Is she you?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psi just become a sparkling vampire already
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The Catboy it's weird there was always something between us.... But neither of us was single at the same time.... But last night we found out we both are... And hmmm 🥰
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Moms spaghetti