*.sav to *gba.sav

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Chisai, May 24, 2012.

May 24, 2012

*.sav to *gba.sav by Chisai at 6:14 PM (714 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Chisai
    OP

    Newcomer Chisai Newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Poland
    I want use my saves from vba (*.sav) on my nds (where I need *gba.sav) and vice versa - is there any converter? I've not found anyone :(
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Just rename them? :P

    They should work.

    What flashcard have you got? Can't really remember of any with the gba.sav extension, at least in years...
     
  3. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    There are ways of doing that. The only one I got working years ago, was a method of commandline copying itself a save to double its filesize. ie 128KB eeprom VBA save into a 256KB raw eeprom.

    found it!

    Code:
    copy /b savefile1.sav+savefile1.sav newsavefile.sav
    Then you put newsavefile.sav on the flashcard, run game, let it detect savefile, then save again.
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Usually, the card's firmware should just read the save data itself. That means that the flashcard would just skip over the duplicate data, ergo, just renaming it should suffice :unsure:

    My SuperCard miniSD reads my VBA saves fine, and my GBA flashcards (EFA and EZ-IV) do that as well.
     
  5. Chisai
    OP

    Newcomer Chisai Newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Poland
    Renaming doesn't work - when I've renamed my Pkmn Emerald save, there was info about error after loading screen.

    I have r4 with 3in1. I've used gba exp, but I can also run roms directly from flashcard and it's easier and faster, but I need *gba.sav :/
     
  6. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Uhh that is, sometimes. Sometimes saves are hardcoded along a specific ROM (by flashcart maker), so clients handle them. Some emulators use just the bits required by the actual savefile, but flashcarts reads save data as "is". Most of save data "as is" it's just doubled the original savefile size (untrimmed)


    ehh, I don't remember 3in1 using gba.sav filenames. But just .sav. Also, why don't you use the latest GBAExploader tool by rudolph? It worked flawlessly with nearly every GBA game I threw
     
  7. raystriker

    Member raystriker Computer Hardware Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Bloomington
    Country:
    India
    Which flashcart do you have?
     

Share This Page