Samsung Exhibit II 4g BRICKED

Discussion in 'Android' started by zbomb, Oct 9, 2012.

Oct 9, 2012

Samsung Exhibit II 4g BRICKED by zbomb at 6:42 PM (1,308 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. zbomb
    OP

    Newcomer zbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    hello users.
    i recently rooted my samsung exhibit II 4g with zergrush.
    it worked splendidly until i deleted my stock launcher "twlauncher" hoping it would do no harm.
    i was incorrect.

    ive been through several threads about odin3 and zimage.tar.
    but nothing is working.
    originally during flash dump it installed drivers and odin3 recognizes that it is there.
    but it wont flash the zimage.tar to the device.
    im sorry, but, what do?

    any advice, links or personal experiences would be helpful at this point.
    thank you

    also dont let my mistake sway anyone from rooting their own device.
    its your phone.
    use it like you own it.
    word.
     
  2. yusuo

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might be wrong but wouldnt you just be able to install clockworkmod recovery and flash a custom rom. If your willing to flash stock rom again why not just flash a custom one via recovery and get some of the perks that come with it

    How to install clockworkmod recovery - http://forum.xda-dev...509&postcount=4
    Best rom for your phone - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1483989

    One more bit of advice, please dont say "word" at the end of your sentence, this isn't the 90s and your not eminem
     
  3. zbomb
    OP

    Newcomer zbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    good links bro.
    i appreciate that.
    but ill use whatever word i like to end a sentence thank you.
    mind your own english
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Let me delete my launcher. What's the worst that could happen?

    That's equivalent to deleting explorer.exe in Windows, dude. Except... you can easily fix that.

    You don't already have a custom recovery installed? You could just flash a new rom (or or push a new launcher APK) through ADB if you do.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1686384&page=182

    That page onward might help you.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On Android deleting launchers is quite common place though. Given that he referred to it as his "Stock launcher" I can assume he was using a 3rd party launcher anyway. Normally removing launchers is just fine it just seems that his stock one was too tied into the OS and it needed something from it just to boot.
    As for the flashing issue, you sure you have the right OPS file?
     
  6. zbomb
    OP

    Newcomer zbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    lol right.
    well the idea was that i would delete twlauncher.
    and holo launcher would compensate,
    but mistakes were made.
    i appreciate all the help guys and as soon i find some time ill try these tips out.
     
  7. zbomb
    OP

    Newcomer zbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    okay so i used the stock rom for the exhibit t679.
    i used odin multi downloader v4.43 while in download mode. not ram dump.
    with ancora.ops
    when it reboots. it loads the stock image. the one with the android coming out of a box over top a green process bar.
    but when the device reboots. it goes back to being a brick.
    loading the samsung logo. vibrates twice. and that is all.
    gosh. im dumb
     
  8. zbomb
    OP

    Newcomer zbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    kay tried again with a different rom.
    and all is as it should be.
    thanks you so much for your help all.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page