Saftly formating.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by GrandMasterJimmy, Mar 2, 2009.

Mar 2, 2009

Saftly formating. by GrandMasterJimmy at 12:53 PM (848 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. GrandMasterJimmy
    OP

    Newcomer GrandMasterJimmy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    I've been seeing lot's of bricks when people format anymore, and am wodnering if there's a safe way to format still.


    Reason being, is I wanna start with a fresh install of my Wii, I have done so much random hacks to it, that they are starting to counteract each other.

    Like Starfalls no menu music, and preloader, the music randomly starts and stops on the wii menu now, health menu is screwing up, ect.

    And if I fromat, I'm still able to downgrade to 3.2 when on a 3.4 system right?
     
  2. wiiv1.5owners3

    Member wiiv1.5owners3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    restore systemmenu.wad 1st once this is done you should be able to format
     
  3. jeffc313

    Newcomer jeffc313 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    make sure you do sysmenu v289, that is the USA one
     
  4. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    Before formating, make sure you remove Preloader, it leads to most brick people had when they format.
    So use hack remover to delete all hacks.ini in memeory, then proceed like usual for removing PL.
     
  5. erolz

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    and for PAL users?
    how can i format my wii?
     
  6. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    1. Use hack remover to remove all of preloader's hacks(If you have it installed)
    2. Run any region changer.
     
  7. erolz

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    ok. thanc. can you please explain how any region changer can format the wii? (before i brick it..)
     
  8. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    It reinstalls the sys menu and all the ios's, which removes all hacks and stuff. It doesn't remove saves and channels and stuff like that though. If you want to remove stuff like that go in to the wii's option menu and select "format".
     

Share This Page