Running PS2 ISOs

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by saison, Feb 14, 2010.

Feb 14, 2010

Running PS2 ISOs by saison at 6:14 PM (4,356 Views / 0 Likes) 45 replies

  1. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I watched this vid showing a guy opening the lid of his PS2 Slim and he was able to switch out a commercial disc when the light inside flashed or something like that.

    I was wondering if the same could be done with a PS2 fat, because I don't have any type of cheating device to softmod my PS2, and I was just wondering if this would work.

    Also, does anyone know these harmful effects of looking into the light? Is it worse than playing too close to your Wii?

    Thanks [​IMG]
     


  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
  3. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of the easiest ways is a SwapMagic disk and a swap tool. You need to mod your PS2 slightly by removing the front plate but once its off you just load swapmagic, follow on screen instructions, use the swap tool to put your PS2 back-up/bootleg disk in and it should load up.
     
  4. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    If I do end up softmodding, I can't really purchase anything because I don't have transportation. Right now I'm looking up a method of running McBoot on that site Jax provided.

    I'm looking at this PS2 Game Swap Trick.

    Anybody that probably knows more about this than me can reccomend me a way of softmodding my PS2?
     
  5. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    If you have a friend with any of the installation DVDs like Swap Magic, Gameshark or Code Breaker, you don't need to buy anything.
     
  6. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, my friends don't even have a PS2 -_-
     
  7. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Freemcboot is better because you don't have to mod your ps2 at all.
    and if youknow someone who has it, it cost nuthin.
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    The swap trick that replaces a .elf file on the disc should work, but it may damage your ps2. It's your choice.

    With Swap Magic, you don't need a swap tool. Swap Magic even allows running ps2 homebrew(for example Open PS2 Loader) on backwards compatible ps3s.
     
  9. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like Swap Magic is heaven, lol. Well, unfortunately nobody I know has a PS2, or a Swap Magic disc [​IMG]

    EDIT: Also, so can anybody answer my initial question?
     
  10. NoSmokingBandit

    Member NoSmokingBandit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    You can get a modified case for your Fat that has a flip top you can use to swap discs, but if you are going to spend the money on that you might as well just buy another 8mb card and have someone install FMCB on it.
     
  11. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Country:
    Australia
    i use my ipod to run ps2 games
     
  12. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Riight, so anybody know if this method works on my fat PS2? The guy didn't use any Swap Magic or anything, he just swapped the commercial disc with his burnt disc when the light flickered.
     
  13. NoSmokingBandit

    Member NoSmokingBandit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    You can swap discs without swap magic, but its more difficult.
     
  14. cman1783

    Member cman1783 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    With freemcboot, you don't even need to swap discs once set up. You patch your iso with the ESR patching tool (google it) and it basically patches the iso into a dvd video format so it tricks the ps2 thinking its a dvd video disc but instead loads the game.
     
  15. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    doing that method of disc swapping isnt recomended and it will damage your ps2, your better off getting the memcard exploit going and loading games up on a hdd =]
     
  16. cman1783

    Member cman1783 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    That's how I have my 2 set up. Both V9's one with a 160GB Maxtor and one with a 40GB Seagate for my son. The ESR trick is the best for backups discs since no swapping is needed without a modchip.
     
  17. zeedds

    Member zeedds GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    just get a gameshark that comes with the flashdrive from ebay.cost me like 15 bucks.install freemcboot and a old hdd.works great and no wear and tear on ur laser. it is by far the best solution.
     
  18. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    ESR trick? As for a GS, I'd doubt it. I'd have to haggle my parents just to use their PayPal acc.
     
  19. NoSmokingBandit

    Member NoSmokingBandit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    You arent going to be able to boot backups without spending any cash unless you make your own slide tool to swap discs.
     
  20. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just open the console that's what I did to my fat just cracked it open did the 007 swapdisk trick, with my edited 007 disk and installed from 1Gb flash drive put console back together and sorted

    Have hacked a few other memory cards for other peoples ps2's with the same console haven't tried hdd loading mainly disk loading was my goal
     

Share This Page