1. IAmTheRad

    IAmTheRad GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there any harm in continuing to use the old patch that patched over the usa version of the game? Is it only really the intro video that's different in the japanese version (because I skip that video anyways)
     
  2. ragesohard

    ragesohard Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Oh my god, you rock. I tried the normal undub method with this (replacing sound_data.sdat using nitro explorer) and got consistent freezes on new game and continue, and after comparing the files decided that the game must be doing non-symbolic references inside them and that fixing this would be a fairly major hack job, so one might as well work from the other end. But it's a lot of work and I didn't expect anyone to already be doing it, let alone be nearly done. It sounds like you've had your share of interesting bugs but the finishing line's in sight.

    Thanks for your amazing dedication to fixing one of the worst english game dubs ever!

    (BTW, small bug(ish) report from initial testing: the japanese version has a voiceover for the very first lines before the first scene which this undub (retrans?) misses. Not a big deal though.)
     
  3. ragesohard

    ragesohard Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Maybe you'd already worked this out, but I may have incidentally discovered what's up with the "NOW" icon and cancelling quests.

    I accepted Gordon's quest "Please get me an aquamarine" and to my surprise the "NOW" icon appeared, but on Mana's quest "Help me look for something" instead. Now if I select that quest I get the option to cancel it (haven't tried doing so since this is unlikely to yield further information and might mess up my save for no good reason) and if I select another quest, including the one I'm actually on, I'm informed that I'm already on a quest, which never happened before.

    So it's probably not that the system isn't functioning, but that there's an inconsistency in quest ids between two files. Hopefully this won't cause any game logic problems and can be fixed without breaking save compatibility.
     
  4. BaTa

    BaTa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
     
  5. ragesohard

    ragesohard Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Well, that's not really the same thing, though the root cause will probably be the same. I was only talking about a bug evident in a game started on this version.
     
  6. achan29

    achan29 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I wonder why the voices on the first lines not working
    this is a major fault in undubbing

    oh and which part has two white screens?
    when you select the wi-fi config?
    I tried it with no$ 2.6a but didnt see any

    thank you for rune factory fans out there for the undub
     
  7. guysensei

    guysensei Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    TyRaNtM, great job with this undub! Have all the issues been resolved now?
     
  8. ndspeng

    ndspeng Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    just wanted to say great job~~
    I don't have to fear talking to Cammy no more [​IMG]

    but sadly, like others have reported, the quest glitch makes the game a lil tough 4 me to play right now.
    hope it can be fixed soon.

    but again, all respect to u TyRaNtM. i'm sure it took a lot of sweat, time & love.
     
  9. GozetaGX

    GozetaGX Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Can re-upload the link :/ ?It's broken
     
  10. ouioui2003

    ouioui2003 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    France
    Good idea. I localize Rune Factory 2 English to French, and this undub version seems to be great.
    Maybe i could try to solve some bugs with my knowledge about formats of files in US version???
     
  11. GozetaGX

    GozetaGX Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Re-Upload the link....Please?
     
  12. kotsuki

    kotsuki Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Please reupload the link. Thanks!
     
  13. XswordcraftX

    XswordcraftX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Camilius and phoenix3934 like this.
  14. phoenix3934

    phoenix3934 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Is there any difference between just replacing sound_data.sdat in the US version and this patch? From my testing the 2 are exactly the same beside the openings and map names.

    Edit: OK, after testing for awhile I can say that the 2 have exactly the same amount of voices (both have less voices than the original Japanese version). You better off just replacing the sound_data.sdat in the US version, that way you won't have the slow text speed, japanese map names and Quest bugs. Unless you really really want the japanese opening then use this patch but beware of the above problems.
     
    Last edited by phoenix3934, Dec 8, 2015
  15. CowCat55

    CowCat55 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    i know this is 11 years late but do you still have the files?
     
  16. Camilius

    Camilius Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Vietnam
    11 years late, damn :'(
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Factory, UNDUB,