RSA-1024bit hacked

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by popoffka, Mar 10, 2010.

Mar 10, 2010

RSA-1024bit hacked by popoffka at 3:15 AM (1,599 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. popoffka
    OP

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    Do you think it's possible to do something like this with a DSi?
     
  2. o0ICE0o

    Member o0ICE0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    Try it then.
    :|
     
  3. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    i can has... dsi commonkey..? o.O
     
  4. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait, this is the one used with the DSi right? o: AMG AMG AMG!
     
  5. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope.
    DSi uses AES 128, not RSA 1024.
    I don't know if the same voltage tweaking method can apply or not.
     
  6. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Well according to this, you have to run voltage through it so if anyone is willing to do it xD
    Imagine that, some retard using jumper cables attached to a power-line and the other end attached to a DSI
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BUSHING, GET IN HERE.

    But seriously, there's documentation for this, just google "Fault-based Attack of RSA Authentication"
    It has a nice simple diagram too.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could be interesting, but if no consoles make use of it it's not of interest to me.
     
  9. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    NDS/NDSL uses RSA for DS Download Play
     
  10. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well that's certainly interesting! I can't wait for downloading homebrew via Download Play without using FlashMe!

    I guess this would also mean that the DSi uses RSA for Download Play, right? I don't think they have changed anything about that.

    Wait, do you actually mean 1024? The DS might use another variant?
     
  11. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    This article is bullshit. For starters, RSA is a software algorithm. These scientists clearly attacked a specific RSA implementation and found a weakness there, not in the algorithm. The "Journalist" writing that article obviously didn't have the brains to comprehend that.

    tl;dr
    RSA != broken
     
  12. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    actually if u were to see the news of today, they are kinda exagerrated
    thanks for the news, gave an idea to many about what encryption the DS is doing and what RSA is
     

Share This Page