router says not connected even though I am?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by gifi4, Sep 24, 2010.

Sep 24, 2010
  1. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright well, when I bought my router, it was working perfectly and there was a green light on it (meant it was connected) and on my pc the router management showed a connected picture aswell but I did a firmware upgrade for my router (without backing up my settings, doh!) and now the router has no light at all on it, and on my pc system tray the router management shows a not connected picture and constantly comes up saying you have no connection (I do have it though) oh on the router site it shows this:
    Router Site
    My internet works absolutely perfect yet it says it's not connected (the wireless works as well, my ps3 is connected wireless perfect.) Anyone ever experienced this/ anyone know how to fix it?

    The pink coloured in things are personal or rom sites/one piece downloads lol!
     
  2. pitman

    Member pitman Addicted to Magical Girls

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,080
    Location:
    Where rockets don't fall.
    Country:
    Israel
    EDIT: Nevermind (note to self: "read the entire post").

    If the internet works fine then why would it matter if it shows whether its connected or not ?
     
  3. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats quite bizarre, try re-installing the firmware maybe it didn't quite install properly, also if you switch off the router you might not be able to get back on if indeed the firmware is broken, either way restoring or doing the firmware upgrade again might fix the problem. There is always tech support for your router too
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn, I was expecting this to be Cannonfoddr.

    I'd leave it as it is. Make sure you've rebooted your PC.
     
  6. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I Can't be stuffed multi quoting everything so: reinstalled firmware, did nothing, when I switch the router off, I can turn it back on with ease, no problems or anything. It's been like this for a while now, of course I've rebooted my computer, 1 of my first things I did, after stuffing around with the firmware, trying to get it back, of course lol. Anyway based on what I've just said, any other ideas?
     
  7. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried another computer with the wired connection to see if it has the same problem?
     
  8. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    nope, I don't have another computer to test it on.
     
  9. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    contact belkin for support then weird router lol
     
  10. pitman

    Member pitman Addicted to Magical Girls

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,080
    Location:
    Where rockets don't fall.
    Country:
    Israel
    How about resetting the router ?
     

Share This Page