Ripping GameCube games using USB Loader GX

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by famicomman89, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    WHenever I try to rip a GameCUbe Game with USB Loader GX I get an error message saying "Not a Wii Disc, Please Insert a Wii Disc!" Well obviously. How do I get it to recognize that this is a GameCube disc and rip it for play. The Game is Ocarina of Time Master Quest if it matters and I'm on a Mac.
     
  2. TonyM
    This message by TonyM has been removed from public view by Cyan, Jan 10, 2015, Reason: Don't provide ISO website.
    Jan 10, 2015
  3. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    947
    128
    Nov 19, 2008
    the best program to use to rip gamecube isos on your wii is CleanRip. It will produce perfect 1:1 images that will work perfectly with nintendont, devolution etc. Just move the iso to a folder on the root of ur SD or USB called games. Put the iso in a folder of the games name and rename the iso to game.iso.

    So if you had ripped mario party 4 it would go like this..

    SD:/games/mario party 4/game.iso
     
  4. TonyM

    TonyM Advanced Member

    Banned
    61
    1
    Jan 9, 2015
    France
  5. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    None of this has worked. Is there a step by step guide on what I should be doing. DIOS MIOS doesn't even show me the files on my system. When I try to boot the game from the disc I get a black screen.

    EDIT: I installed Nintendont to try that. It sees the game, but when I try to load it it says "checking FS error 12 shutting down." and the system goes into a hard shut down.
     
  6. 466

    466 yes, it says 466

    Member
    199
    30
    Mar 28, 2014
    United Kingdom
    Earth
    Try Devolution? You have to insert the original disc first to validate the ISO you got from CleanRip. It's just an anti-piracy measure. After you validate the disc and ISO, you don't need to insert the disc to play the game anymore.
     
  7. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    That didn't work either. I think I may need to reinstall the original MIOS, which I can't find a clean file for and the program that can give them to me is PC only.
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,710
    8,318
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You can find original MIOS v10 on a lot of game.
    use Wiixplorer to mount a Wii game Disc, browse to the update partition and copy MIOS wad file.

    Having the official MIOS will not help in ripping Gamecube Disc.

    CleanRIP didn't work to dump your gamecube game disc to ISO?
     
  9. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    CleanRIP allowed me to rip the game just fine. I just can't get any application to recognize the game is on my hard drive except Nintendont, and it freezes and gives me the aforementioned error. I can't even play retail discs anymore. I ultimately wanted to be able to load my GCN disc rips through USB Loader, but can't get it to work. Everything has to be done manually though because most of these automated programs don't have Mac versions. I first installed DIOS MIOS and have had no luck with it. It's not the ripping I'm having trouble with, it's the playback.
     
  10. TonyM

    TonyM Advanced Member

    Banned
    61
    1
    Jan 9, 2015
    France
  11. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    947
    128
    Nov 19, 2008
    Don't take any notice of what the poster above has said, he seems to be a bit of a spammer.

    You DO NOT need to convert your ISO's for Nintendont to play them. I have a large collection playing just fine from my hard drive and they are just cleanrip isos.

    I would normally suggest running syscheck on ur wii and then putting output file (syscheck.csv) thru modmii but I see you have a Mac.... Can u not use wine to run modmii.... As the syscheck will highlight any problems your wii may have and then modmii can fix them for you.
     
  12. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    I have tried, but after typing "I AGREE" in ModMII through Wine it fails to go any further.
     
  13. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    947
    128
    Nov 19, 2008
    Hmm have you tried asking in the modmii thread here??
    Or you could run syscheck and then send me your syscheck.csv and I will run it through modmii for you and then I can zip up all the files and send them to you. If you want to do that pm me.
     
  14. famicomman89
    OP

    famicomman89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    I finally got it working kind of. I can play GameCube games off of a separate USB Flash Drive or the SD Card using USB Loader GX. I can't however seem to load my GameCube games onto the HDD that my Wii Games are on, even though it's in 2 Partitions. I can even use it to RIP GameCube game to the Flash Drive and SD Card, but not the HDD. Both are 32 Fat. Any advice on why this is? It would be much more convenient to use only one HDD.
     
  15. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    947
    128
    Nov 19, 2008
    I think it has to be the first partition on your hdd, and it has to be the primary partition. I have all my games wii and GC on 1 2tb hard drive and It works perfectly. I would consider backing up all your data and reformatting your hard drive and only having 1 partition. Then copy all your data back and see how you get on.